We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jackson, Mississippi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just finished a New Year's stay at Roosevelt in New Orleans and it was a wonderful experience. We had a superior room -- up from a deluxe -- and it was in essence a mini suite.We have stayed in New Orleans many times and this was our best trip. The lobby was decorated for Xmas and was just beautiful. One of New Orleans best restaurants (Domenica) is on the ground floor so it is very convenient. Staff was very accommodating. Throw in the fact that we paid for the trip with our Hilton Honors points and you can see why we will go back.

Room Tip: As mentioned we got upgraded to the superior room from the deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear scoop1978,

We are SO glad that not only did you use your well deserved Hhonors points with us, but that we were also able to provide you with a luxurious upgrade! Thank you for thinking about The Roosevelt when traveling to New Orleans. Its an honor to have so many loyal guests visit us and hopefully you will allow us to welcome you back in the near future. Best wishes in 2013.

Sincerely,

Team Roosevelt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,398
    495
    155
    69
    37
See reviews for
299
853
89
575
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a king suite for 6 nights, including New Year's Eve. The Christmas decorations were spectacular, the employees couldn't have been more accommodating. We loved the location, walking distance to everything but far enough from the noise of Bourbon street. Absolutely the best place to stay in NOLA. Park next door for $15/day, don't pay $42/day for valet parking!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Public Relations Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear ReaderChicago,

Thank you for taking time to stop by Trip Advisor and let the community know about your recent stay. As a Senior Reviewer on Trip Advisor we really do value your comments and take them into consideration to make sure future guest have a flawless experience. We are so delighted to hear that you think our hotel is beautiful. We hope that you have a wonderful 2013 and are able to come visit us again soon. Thank you for begin our guest and we hope that you will consider staying with us again the next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans.

Best,
Team Roosevelt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Booked this trip for a Christmas gift for my wife and could not have been more pleased. As a Hhonors gold member I was upgraded to a modest 1 bedroom suite with a nice view. Everything was clean, quiet and comfortable. Had a great unique cocktail in the Sazerac Bar thanks to drink coupons at check-in which was a nice touch. Too many great places to eat within a few minutes walk so we did not eat at any of the restaurants. Can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Public Relations Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear AUFan01,

Thank you for taking time to stop by Trip Advisor and let the community know about your recent stay. As a Reviewer on Trip Advisor we really do value your comments and take them into consideration to make sure future guest have a flawless experience. Thank you for spending the holidays with us and we hope that your wife loved her Christmas Present. We also want to thank you for being a Hhonor gold member and happy that we were able to upgrade your reservations. We hope that you enjoyed our city and were able to bring back back many memories that will last a lifetime. Thank you for begin our guest and we hope that you will consider staying with us again the next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans.

Best,
Team Roosevelt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

After a delightful first stay at this premier Hilton property, my SO and I decided it would be the perfect venue for a Christmas-vacation stay. Not exactly.

We arrived in the midst of a crush of poorly behaved local football fans whose presence was cited to deny us an upgrade from a standard (read "tiny") Tower 1 hotel room to a suite---in spite of HHonors Diamond status. Instead, we were informed we could move to a suite the following day. Unfortunately, the "suite", still in Tower 1, was identical to the standard hotel room with the exception of having a tiny sitting room appended. At least it had a powder room, which helped a little. But this was NOTHING like the luxurious room we had so enjoyed in Tower 2 on the previous stay. Not only was the room dinky, it was poorly attended as well as in need of re-furbishing.

However, this pales in comparison to the ill treatment we received at breakfast on Day 2. Granted it was Christmas Eve, but you would think the staff would be working extra hard in the restaurant to engender some Christmastime tip generosity. You would be wrong.

The floor manager apparently had no idea how to organize the tickets. As a result, it was obvious to everyone that tables were being served at random, rather than by when their orders were taken. We waited 20 MINUTES for plain eggs and oatmeal. And then the order came out wrong. Wrong number of eggs, no side, pre-packaged jam---all of which had been prepared correctly the previous day. To make matters even worse, I had decided to order my 2 eggs over medium to save time, rather than poached or soft-boiled as I would have preferred. And to make matters worse yet, the single solitary egg that was delivered was disgusting: greasy, over-cooked, and plopped onto a plate unadorned by so much as a sprig of parsley. At which point I simply had to ask the server what I had done to make her so upset. Whereupon, she decided the best course of action was to initiate an argument with me. Meanwhile, the floor manager decided to join in!

Dear Blackstone Group, or whichever bloodless engulf-and-devour enterprise currently is responsible for the Hilton name: this is NOT customer service. You should be ashamed.

At least they comped me the poor excuse for a breakfast.

2012 saw us was many ups and downs in travel. Mostly, our experience with Hilton brands has been good, but enough downright inhospitable stays have caused us to look for alternatives in 2013.

I for one am fed up with being treated badly by hotel staff, who would rather amuse themselves by being mean, nasty, rude, and impatient with "guests" than to do the job of making the traveler feel comfortable and welcomed. American travelers put up with too much and we need to start sticking up for ourselves.

Room Tip: Don't accept Tower 1 if you can help it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear dlafky,

We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience during your stay with us. At The Roosevelt, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. I truly regret that in your second visit, we fell short of providing you with the exceptional level of service you deserve. I also truly regret that you had a bad experience during breakfast. Your comments are incredibly important and your feedback will help us improve. Our guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Team Roosevelt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed over Christmas. Yes, the lobby was decorated beautifully. However it created extra crowds from the street. With entrances from both sides the lobby resembled a mall rather than a hotel. Very uncomfortable feelings starting from check-in to any time you need to pass through the lobby. We also got the location of the room facing the cathedral. Those bells ring every half hour. All that hope to sleep over the holidays went down the drain.
The standard room itself is not impressive at all. Very small with outdated bathrooms.
If you want to stay with class, quietness, modern rooms - go straight across the street!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear FLX,

Thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests, including when comments help identify ways we can improve. I am very sorry that you encountered large crowds during your stay. I can assure you that your comfort is our main priority and I will make sure to take your comments into consideration to improve our guest experience. Again, I apologize if you went through any inconveniences and hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at The Roosevelt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed at the Roosevelt in late Dec '12 and found it to be a really nice hotel with some great history. The lobby was decorated for the holidays which was beautiful. The concierge August was wonderful in helping to set up reservations and had some great recommendations. I gave it only a 4 out 5 because while in a good location, my room was right across from the cathedral and those bells start chimming early in the AM and I am a light sleeper. Try to request a room on the other side of the hotel.

Room Tip: Stay away from the Cathedral side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Public Relations Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear RAR1126,

Thank you for taking time to stop by Trip Advisor and let the community know about your recent stay. As a Senior Reviewer on Trip Advisor we really do value your comments and take them into consideration to make sure future guest have a flawless experience. We are so pleased to hear that August was able to help set up reservations and also contribute in making your experience a memorable one. We hope that you enjoyed New Orleans and experience all the wonderful things New Orleans is known for. Thank you for begin our guest and we hope that you will consider staying with us again the next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans.

Best,
Team Roosevelt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

After much debate and research, I booked 5 nights at the Roosevelt for our end of Dec. NOLA trip--me, husband, and 9 YO boy. I read a thousand reviews, read all different site's reviews and what a good choice! We had a standard room, I requested a high floor which was granted.

Here's what we loved: the room was beautiful--big, beautifully decorated, comfortable for us to hang out in for several hours each day. Very quiet--we hardly heard anything. Big windows that let in lots of light, and thick curtains that blocked it all too. The location couldn't be beat. 1/2 block to Canal and 2 blocks to where the French Quarter gets really nice and interesting. We didn't have a car and could go out all morning and wander, eat, shop, and then back for a rest, and out again.

Only downsides: housekeeping didn't seem to come until later afternoon, so by day 3 we just called in the am and asked that it be cleaned by noon. Which it was. And they charge for WiFi, which I think is absurd.

Other downside: BE WARNED--the food in the restaurant downstairs is a rip off. We had breakfast at the Sazerac restaurant and it was worse that mediocre, tiny portions, and ridiculously priced. Don't eat there. The coffee shop is also absurd--$5 for a KIND bar. Really?? Those are $1.29 at my local store. We did have pizza from the Italian restaurant and that was good. And between 3-6 is happy hour and 1/2 off pizza, wine and beer. And also watch out for the mini-bar: $5 for a bottle of water. You're charged if you lift it up.

The staff at the Roosevelt are fantastic--friendly, helpful; the Christmas lights are gorgeous--simply stunning. It was a festive and fun atmosphere.

And those linens--what were they? I tried to find tags, to find descriptors--but no info. They were delicious. Most comfortable bed I've ever slept in at a hotel. Slept sooo well there.

My son's favorite thing was the TV in the bathroom. He could take a bath and watch TV. He thought that was phenomenal. And finally, I loved the shampoo, conditioner, and lotion.

I don't often feel like hotels are "worth it," but this one was. For us, spending $200 a night on a hotel is a splurge--and I really felt like I got my money's worth between the quality of the room, the location, the lobby, and the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Public Relations Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear KashiG,

Thank you for taking time to stop by Trip Advisor and let the community know about your recent stay. As a Contributor on Trip Advisor we really do value your comments and take them into consideration to make sure future guest have a flawless experience. We are ecstatic to hear that your family loved our hotel. Staying at The Roosevelt during the Holidays is a magical time which is loved by many. We are so pleased you were able to experience it first hand and to bring those memories home. Thank you for begin our guest and we hope that you will consider staying with us again the next time your travels bring you back to New Orleans.

Best,
Team Roosevelt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#5 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roosevelt Hotel New Orleans, a Waldorf Astoria hotel, provides guests with a sense of history and place. Offering 504 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites, The Roosevelt is adjacent to the French Quarter and is convenient to all New Orleans attractions. The hotel features Waldorf Astoria Spa and Fitness Center, Fountain Lounge and Sazerac Bar, and Chef John Besh's Domenica. Spacious guestrooms offer luxurious linens, flat-screen TVs, refreshment centers, bathrobes, safes, and 24 hour in-room dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Amex, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.