We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% off Dining
Ranked #7 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We arrived on a Friday just for 2 nights and it is in a perfect location. Its a 5 minute walk to Bourbon St and Royal St and has a CVS and Walgreens next to it if you don't want to use the mini bar. The staff were lovely and the decor was stunning. They had all the Christmas lights up in the lobby and it was just spectacular. We have decided this is the only place we will stay if we go back to New Orleans. We had no complaints.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,607 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,038
    371
    112
    55
    31
See reviews for
214
658
79
418
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geismar, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

We arrived early on a Friday afternoon. We were greeted by a bellman and taken into the lobby. The Christmas decor is breath taking. I went to the registration desk to check in. At no time was I greeted as a Hilton Honors member and in no way did I feel a valued guest. We went to our room which has a great view of the church on Barrone. Our room is small, very comparable to a room in Chicago or New York. The room is well furnished and comfortable. On Saturday we returned to our room to find it made up but with a foul odor. The hotel is lovely, with many amenities. There is no warmth or customer service from the staff. I spent last weekend as a guest of the Marriott and felt just as warm and welcome. If you are looking for southern charm please stay elsewhere.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear SuzieW2,

As a regular contributor to Trip Advisor and a loyal Hilton Hhonors member, we value your feedback and will use it to better the services we provide to our guests. Not only as a Hilton Hhonors member, but as a Roosevelt guest, we pride ourselves on an exceptional arrival experience and apologize that your experience what not as expected. We very much appreciate our Louisiana guests choosing The Roosevelt knowing that there are so many hotel options in New Orleans and hope that you will give us another chance in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly the next time you are in NOLA.

Happy Holidays,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
mark.remer@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The inside of the hotel main floor is very beautiful, the staff are very nice and the bartenders are extremely friendly and talented. The cafe is lacking in so much that we refused to even buy anything from there. Our room was a deluxe double and it was very nice and roomy. I have no complaints about the room itself at all and would love to stay there again as long as they replace the bed. Both beds were so uncomfortable we barely slept, even after an exhausting day. I am all for a firm bed with a plush topping but this was like sinking to the floor. It was too cool for using the outdoor pool but it seemed like it would be very nice during the warmer weather. The people actually staying at the hotel can be a hit or miss, most were very friendly, there were a few stuck-up women. The gift shop is surprisingly nice and not overpriced. One of the best things about this hotel is Domenica, we ate there a few times, the pizza is very good. The location is very good as well, just on the other side of Canal, so the FQ is not a far walk. Oh and I forgot my cell phone charger when we checked out and the cleaning staff turned it into security and I was able to get it back from them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Highly recommend. The front desk staff was excellent. We are Hilton Honors members and were upgraded to a Luxury suite -- wow, it was fabulous! The hotel is just blocks away from the heart of the French Quarter. It was so nice stepping out for a few hours to enjoy the lively New Orleans and return to a luxurious suite. The Lobby decorations for Christmas are breathtaking. The hotel restaurant - Domenica - is a must for a delicious pizza and cheese/meat plate. Overall, worth every penny.

Room Tip: Luxury suite - perfect. Rm 11311 is amazing! Rm 21228 (Superior Rm) was spacious, without a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Beautiful hotel just a block from the French quarter - staff are very helpful esp the concierge team. Always helpful and a beautiful room - would recommend staying here. Had a super early morning check out too which was not a problem

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville Ontario
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

On our trip to New Orleans we stayed at The Roosevelt Hotel. The hotel is an amazing builing with and equally amazing lobby and history. While we were there they were decorating the lobby for Christmas and each day we watched the tranformation from a wonderful lobby to a winter wonderland. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful and always greated us with a smile and warm words. The suite that we stayed in was a King suite with two bathrooms and a bed that made it hard to get up in mornings. The only negatives were the cost of parking and internet otherwise this is a truly 5 star rating. The hotel is close to Bourbon Street, Canal Street and the French Quarter

Room Tip: All rooms at this classic hotel should be great based on our suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

From the minute you arrive the staff makes you feel welcome and can not do enough for you.The Lobby is beautiful and worth walking in to see if your not staying there. We stayed in a corner suite that had a nice view and it was very comfortable, the bed and linens were wonderful. The housekeeping staff needs to step up alittle and make sure the bathrooms are cleaned each day and dust daily. But are very pleasant if you ask for anything.It is just a couple of blocks away from everything so you are able to get away from the insanity of Bourbon St for the night. leave the hotel for meals, the food is terrible and service is awful. SAZURAC BAR in the lobby is a wonderful spot for a drink and to people watch. We really loved this old hotel and enjoyed staying there.

Room Tip: Corner Suites are Larger and quiter. There is not any amazing view from this Hotel but the older tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roosevelt Hotel New Orleans, a Waldorf Astoria hotel, provides guests with a sense of history and place. Offering 504 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites, The Roosevelt is adjacent to the French Quarter and is convenient to all New Orleans attractions. The hotel features Waldorf Astoria Spa and Fitness Center, Fountain Lounge and Sazerac Bar, and Chef John Besh's Domenica. Spacious guestrooms offer luxurious linens, flat-screen TVs, refreshment centers, bathrobes, safes, and 24 hour in-room dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.