We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn up to 4x points!
Ranked #8 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Thanks to reviews on trip advisor we booked The Roosevelt New Orleans, and glad we once again trusted the trip advisor community. This place is absolutely beautiful. The lobby is ornate, the concierge so helpful, the room well appointed and bed very comfortable. This hotel is located just off Bourbon street, making it convenient for exploring the music and festivities of the dynamic city.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: We always try for upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,682 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,088
    389
    117
    57
    31
See reviews for
233
684
79
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

After a great stay at the Roosevelt Hotel in Los Angeles we made the mistake of assuming this hotel is similar - they are unrelated. The lobby is beautiful, our standard queen room was tidy but small and hammering in the pipes made it a little noisy when other guests were using their shower. Incidentals are expensive: $15/day for internet, $40 for parking and when a package was mailed to me I was surprised that not only did no one tell me it arrived but I was charged a $10 handling fee after I asked whether something had been received for me. Other hotels have brought packages to my room with no charge at all. Area immediately surrounding hotel is nothing special, but French Quarter is only 2 mins walk as is the streetcar. Tip: There are 2 entrances to hotel. You can park at 145 University Place for $15/day, it's just over the road from the University Place entrance to the hotel.... much cheaper than the hotel valet parking which others have reported can be slow. I'd recommend this hotel only if the elegant/historic lobby is of particular interest and cost is not an issue. We enjoyed New Orleans but will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

At the time of writing the Roosevelt is rated No. 2 amongst Tripadvisor hotels in New Orleans, which was the reason I booked it. However, after being in New Orleans for a day, I rather wished I had booked one of the hotels on Bourbon Street itself, even though only 10 minutes walk away. Although stylishly decorated, the room is small and a poor contrast with the spacious and well appointed room at the Memphis Westin where I stayed immediately prior, at half the price. As I write, at 4.30 pm, housekeeping has only just turned up to make up the room, which seems somewhat late.The Room Service Menu is limited and, whilst the prices are not unreasonable, the compulsory addition of a 20% service charge plus a $4.00 delivery charge is jarring by my European and Asian standards (why can't all this just be factored in to the posted prices?) Against these negatives, however, I found both the Reception and Concierge to be helpful, patient and understanding, the Sazerac Restaurant and Bar to be stylish, and the entire large lobby area to be an aesthetic delight.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montague
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

I enjoyed my two nights at the Roosevelt. Staff were kind and helpful. The location is within walking distance to the French Quarter. The convention center is very close; it may also be within walking distance, just didn't go in that direction. Meeting rooms were very nice. The room was exceptionally clean. The bathroom was lovely, furnishing very comfortable, as was the bed. I agree with previous reviews that the bed was exceptionally comfortable. I appreciated having access to good coffee, lighter meals as well as dining on site, helpful concierge service, and staff ready to assist with late night arrival and very early departure (4 am, OMG!). I enjoyed the minibar because I am a frequent traveler and want to have a few options beyond room service and having to dress to go out. I would definitely consider staying here again. Note: I typically stay in hotels better rated by Trip Advisor. I rate according to how a hotel advertises itself, not comparing, for example, an airport hotel to a resort property, but rather an airport hotel to what I expect from an airport hotel.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed 5 nights at The Roosevelt for a family wedding. We had a lovely time. We stayed in what I believe is called a King Superior and was similar to a junior suite like in other hotels. It was quite spacious and the furnishings were very nice. We ordered room service one night and it took a little bit longer than anticipated but I think that it was because the entire bridal party was also ordering food!! This hotel is expensive but if you are looking for a splurge this is the place to stay! It is also very close to everything. Staff is impeccable too! The wedding was also at the hotel and it was just fabulous. If you are looking for a wedding venue in New Orleans I would definitely look into The Roosevelt.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Just spent a week at the Roosevelt.

Pros: fabulous location--quiet but within easy walking distance of the action
Beautiful lobby and rooms
Sazerac makes some great cocktails
Wonderful recommendations by concierge
Luxurious robes, slippers, bedding

Cons: charge for use of Internet? I just can't understand a $15 charge per device...I think per day...we refused to pay this. What are they thinking? Makes you feel like they're trying to rip you off when you're paying for luxury.
Housekeeping was inconsistent--didn't come one day until we called after 4:00

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I believe I've stayed here about a dozen times since the Roosevelt reopened in 2009, and I probably have not stayed in the same type of room twice. That's the fun of staying in a historic hotel, but if you find a room type you like, you may not get it again if the hotel is full. Such was the case this time. I had superior room 10202, and it was about 50% smaller than the last superior I stayed in - a room ending in 16. Not a big problem though. I still love the beds, the doors close quietly, and the halls are quiet. This was the first time in all my stays, though, that I did notice I could hear the conversation next door through the walls as I was doing work in the afternoon. Luckily, my neighbor went to sleep. I also noticed this time that maintenance needs to step it up a bit. The top and sides of the bathroom door frame had visible rust, and there was a big chip in the bathroom art picture frame. Of course this affected my stay in no way, but little things will add up over time, and I want the management to keep this the jewel it is. I love coming back to the Roosevelt and consider it my New Orleans home.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool are very quiet. The rooms facing Barone St. can be noisy from traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roosevelt Hotel New Orleans, a Waldorf Astoria hotel, provides guests with a sense of history and place. Offering 504 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites, The Roosevelt is adjacent to the French Quarter and is convenient to all New Orleans attractions. The hotel features Waldorf Astoria Spa and Fitness Center, Fountain Lounge and Sazerac Bar, and Chef John Besh's Domenica. Spacious guestrooms offer luxurious linens, flat-screen TVs, refreshment centers, bathrobes, safes, and 24 hour in-room dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.