We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bookmark
You added The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best of Waldorf Credit
Ranked #9 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

The Hotel Looked Amazing, staff were friendly and efficient. Unfortunatley our stay coincided with the essence festival so the Hotel was full to capacity and very noisy. Our friends, my wife and I were in rooms 412 & 414 at the end of the corridor by the pool. Our first night we had Brocken sleep up to five in the morning with over excited guests that must experienced a pool for the first time in their lives and had no regard what sever to any other guests. Posted signs stated no access to the pool after 10pm but this was never monitored or inforsed. I complained to the front desk but was informed that every year it is the same at any hotel in NOL during essence as it is very busy. As a frequent user of the Hilton Brand, worldwide, one expects the experience and service to match the room rate and not for standards to be lowered to please the greater occupancy. Of all the hotels I have stayed at in the last three weeks (4 Hilton) this was the most expensive for parking $40.00 per night ( my car got a good nights sleep ) San Anotio $35 on River Walk, two were Free. WiFi, well that's another story. No tea coffee making facilities, tea & coffee available to purchase of course!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear GraemeSmith,

The team at The Roosevelt New Orleans strives to provide a superior level of guest service for all hotel guests. When our guests feel that we have come up short to that level of service, we certainly appreciate knowing where we can continue to improve for our future guests. Thank you so much for stopping by Trip Advisor and providing an insight of your recent stay.


Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,179
    430
    130
    61
    32
See reviews for
247
739
84
472
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This hotel is absolutely beautiful and the service was outstanding. The rooms are spacious, everything is brand new. There is wi-fi, there is a wonderful Guerlain Spa with an area you can sample all of the goodies.....The location is excellent if you are looking to be close enough to the French Quarter but far enough away. It is walking distance and it is a safe walk. There are multiple restaurants - a more upscale venue, a more casual Italian (including pizza) offering, and a little cafe. They did their best to use / restore all of the original items like wall murals and lighting fixtures when possible.

It is true that it is a bit expensive, but it is in line with the pricing of the more upscale properties in New Orleans. If you are looking for something special with a historic feel (but entirely new), then this is a great choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Shelane N,

Thank you for stopping by Trip Advisor and posting a review from your past stay. We love to hear feedback from our guests and knowing that our level of service is leaving lasting impressions. We look forward to your next visit to New Orleans and another opportunity to provide you with a True Waldorf Service.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed here for a few days recently while visiting NOLA and all I can say is "wow"! First, the property is in a great location being only a few blocks (very walkable distance) from Bourbon Street, but far enough away to not get the noise or filth. The hotel has also been beautifully restored and has to be one of the most well-done restorations that I have seen. Plus, I found it particularly interesting that all of the staff was well-versed in the history and nuances of the hotel.

The service was also outstanding. Check-in and check-out were quick and efficient. The check-in agent even overheard my husband and I speaking about a recent celebration. Although our occasion had passed, she gave us complementary coffee and desserts for every night of our stay. It was a nice special touch. All of the other staff from the gift shop employees to the concierge were extremely courteous and efficient and provided wonderful recommendations. They were even able to secure a reservation for us at the most popular restaurant in NOLA that is booked months in advance! The rooms and rooftop pool were also well restored and clean. Housekeeping and general maid service was great and we never saw a speck of dirt anywhere during our visit.

Overall, this hotel is a bit pricey but it's worth every dollar and will certainly complete a trip to NOLA!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear goferris,

Congratulations on your recent celebration! We appreciate you choosing us to be your hotel of choice during your visit. Your review is a true reflection of the service that The Roosevelt New Orleans provides. Thank you for taking the time to let us all know about your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Beautiful hotel - enjoyed every minute - won't stay anywhere else when I go back to New Orleans. It is truly grand. Comfy bed, lovely linens, quiet. We booked with What a Hotel- they are always outstanding.

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor, tower 2 overlooking the pool. Totally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
susan905Ontario,

The Roosevelt New Orleans appreciates you stopping by and taking the time to let the community know about your stay. Thank you so much for the great review! We look forward to your next visit while in New Orleans.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

If you use the valet service, please LOCK your money in your glove department. One of the valet parking staff members stole money out of our car. After speaking with an Hilton employee, we found out that the valet service is contract service.

Rooms: I've stayed at this location when it was the Fairmont; however, after Katrina, the Fairmont decided not to repair the damages and the Roosevelt moved. The Roosevelt clearly resized the rooms! I remember the standard rooms under the Fairmont were HUGE. We were in the king deluxe room and it wasn't anything special. The hotel also had mini bar where it charges you to remove items. Yes, only to remove items. I understand the charge for using an item but removing an item. Please!!!! The bathroom was rather nice and spacious. The shower was one of the best parts.

Check in Process: Checking in was pretty simple. As a Gold member, I received two complimentary beverages at the bar. The drinks were pretty good!! Unfortunately I didn't get upgraded due to a special event in the city. I honestly didn't think the hotel was full.

Valet: Sucks!!! It was $40/day.

Hotel Decor: The hotel's lobby is beautiful with great artwork

I love staying in Hilton hotels; however, this is one Hilton I would not stay in ever again or recommend to any friends or family members. It's not worth it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear MsTab,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for the Trip Advisor community. We appreciate the feedback that is received to continuously improve our guest's experience.
The safety and security of our guests is very important and rest assured that your experience is being reviewed by the team to make sure that our guests have a hassel free stay. If you would like to discuss your stay further, please do not hestitate to reach out to me.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
mark.remer@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed several times at the Roosevelt , the staff is consistently friendly and helpful, the lobby is beautiful but it is amazing during Christmas and new year.
A must is to try Sazerac drink .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear renaldoc,

Thanks for stopping by Trip Advisor! We appreciate you taking the time to inform us as well as the community about your stay.
The Holidays are indeed a magical time of the year, especially here at The Roosevelt New Orleans. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back and thank you for being our guest.

Best.

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is a really nice hotel. The artwork at the entrance and in the lobby is so detailed. I stayed in a suite on the 3rd floor overlooking the Orpheum Theater. The room had a living area with a pull out bed sofa and refrigerator. Comfortable bed and spacious room. The shower is very large with shower heads coming from everywhere. I can't really speak for the standard rooms. Nice restaurants and a drink at the Sazarac is a must. Very elegant. The location is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear autothief,

We are more than happy that you were pleased with your suite and the hotel's amenities. The Roosevelt New Orleans offers the best luxury accommodations and is in an absolute great location for all to enjoy. We appreciate your review and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#3 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roosevelt Hotel New Orleans, a Waldorf Astoria hotel, provides guests with a sense of history and place. Offering 504 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites, The Roosevelt is adjacent to the French Quarter and is convenient to all New Orleans attractions. The hotel features Waldorf Astoria Spa and Fitness Center, Fountain Lounge and Sazerac Bar, and Chef John Besh's Domenica. Spacious guestrooms offer luxurious linens, flat-screen TVs, refreshment centers, bathrobes, safes, and 24 hour in-room dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Tingo so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.