We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid Opulence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best of Waldorf Credit
Ranked #7 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
CHANDLER, AZ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Splendid Opulence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Roosevelt is like the grand dame of NOLA. From the minute you walk it, it just exudes an understated elegance. I had the 1 BR suite, and it was fabulous; it even sports a 1/2 bath! The only draw back was it didn't have a bathtub.
Wonderful staff, and the Sazerac bar is great. A good place to get a bloody mary in the morning after a wild night. I'm booked there again in December, I've heard its Christmas decor is breataking.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear DIANNE S,

Thank you so much for stopping by Trip Advisor and letting us know about your past stay with The Roosevelt New Orleans. We appreciate knowing that we were your hotel of choice during your visit to New Orleans and that you will be returning for another luxurious stay.
Prepare to be amazed by our Holiday decor!

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,125
    401
    120
    58
    31
See reviews for
239
702
81
444
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

A short business trip brought us to the elegant Waldorf Astoria. After reading for weeks all of the wonderful reviews about the hotel, my husband and I were thrilled when we finally arrived in New Orleans. Upon entering our superior room, we discovered several problems. After three calls to guest relations and the third staff member unreasonably refusing to connect us to a manager, my husband and I took a short walk to the Walgreens to purchase cleaning supplies to resolve the problem. As longstanding Hilton Honors members, for the first ever, we felt slighted.

Aside from our problem, the hotel is exquisite. We visited all the hotel restaurants and had room service. Each was fantastic! We required wireless internet access in our room, and it was satisfactory. The valet parking was super efficient as was the spa. We are planning a return trip during Thanksgiving.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear BusinessTravelDiva,

Thank you for posting your review of your recent stay. We strive to exceed our guest's expectations on all fronts and if we come up short we certainly appreciate knowing where we can continue to improve for our future guests. Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to speak further about your past stay and certainly your return stay. Thank you for your feedback and I look forward to speaking with you.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
mark.remer@waldorfastoria.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

We were so looking forward to our trip to New Orleans and our stay at the Roosevelt. It exceeded our expectations. Beautiful,historic and elegant. Stellar service.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear Annabeast,

An amazing review to match our AMAZING guests! Thank you for allowing us the opportuntiy to show you a True Waldorf Service.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Texas
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Located just off if Canal Street at the edge of the French Quarter, the Waldorf is a great hotel. Beginning the moment you are greeted by the valet, you ate treated like royalty. The hotel is beautiful and walking through the grand foyer just makes you feel good. Excellent stay. My new favorite of the hotels in New Orleans.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dennis10_51,

Thank you so much for stopping by Trip Advisor! We are more than proud to be on your list of favorites and your new #1 hotel in New Orleans! There are plenty of events around the city this summer to take advantage of and we would love to welcome you back. Thank you for being our guest.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

There is nothing better than the elegance of Waldorf Astoria home away from home experience at the Roosevelt. With 5 years of hotel living in NO I spent the last three at my favorite. The Roosevelt in New Orleans is equal to or superior to all the hotels I have stayed from "The Waldorf" in NYC to upscales in Hawaii, Costa Rica, Italy, Key West and places beyond. None offers the friendly staff and elegance of the Roosevelt. It is indeed to total package to finest hotel living anywhere. Thank you to all of the staff and management, it was a great three years and although I am ending my NO journey I will remember the friendliness of each of you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
To our beloved txswinner,

Thank you so much for the kind words! We appreciate being able to accommodate you over the past few years and you will truly be missed. Please know that you will always have a home here at The Roosevelt New Orleans.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

From check in to departure, the hotel staff went above and beyond to make me feel welcome. Upon arrival my wife and I were greeted and the check-inn agent even congratulated us on being pregnant. It was a very personal touch.

We did notice that one of the 2 free bottles of water in our room had been opened, probably by the previous guest and missed by housekeeping. The reason for the 5th star was because when I reported it and asked them to replace it, they went above and beyond, gave us 4 free bottles of water, and gave us two free drink coupons just for the inconvenience. It was not inconvenient, it was an easy mistake for anyone to make. I was so shocked by the service, I would have been perfectly happy with the 1 bottle being replaced.

The staff every time we exited offered to give us directions, and every time we returned welcomes us back, often by name which means a lot. Also the concierge asked us what we like and made restaurant recommendations based on our interests, while many hotels seem to steer us towards chains that give them kickbacks.

I was really impressed with the art collection in the lobby, and loved that it was local art specific to the hotel. The clock was fascinating and I loved reading about the mayors lock box and the milk jug. The Roosevelt is a very beautiful historic hotel.

It was a very personal experience, excellent service, and less than a block from the French Quarter.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Dear emanon256,

Thank you so much for being a recent guest with us and posting a review about your stay. We rely on our guest's feedback to continue to improve and provide a superior guest service. Our goal as a team is to go above and beyond to really WOW our guests. We are more than pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to be able to accommodate you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Ti was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The entire staff was wonderful!! The luxury suite was very spacious and very well appointed. The pool was very nice. And the poo. Bar and staff were very attentive. All of the services were first class and second to one in New Orleans. Will back again?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Resortdude,

The Roosevelt New Orleans would proudly welcome your return stay. We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay and for allowing other Trip Advisor viewers the opportunity to have a brief insight of your experience. Thank you for the wonderful comments and hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roosevelt Hotel New Orleans, a Waldorf Astoria hotel, provides guests with a sense of history and place. Offering 504 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites, The Roosevelt is adjacent to the French Quarter and is convenient to all New Orleans attractions. The hotel features Waldorf Astoria Spa and Fitness Center, Fountain Lounge and Sazerac Bar, and Chef John Besh's Domenica. Spacious guestrooms offer luxurious linens, flat-screen TVs, refreshment centers, bathrobes, safes, and 24 hour in-room dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hilton Hotels and Odigeo so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.