We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True luxury in the heart of the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“True luxury in the heart of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Ti was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. The entire staff was wonderful!! The luxury suite was very spacious and very well appointed. The pool was very nice. And the poo. Bar and staff were very attentive. All of the services were first class and second to one in New Orleans. Will back again?

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Resortdude,

The Roosevelt New Orleans would proudly welcome your return stay. We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay and for allowing other Trip Advisor viewers the opportunity to have a brief insight of your experience. Thank you for the wonderful comments and hope to see you again soon.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,398
    495
    155
    70
    37
See reviews for
299
853
89
576
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, MD
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I had the chance to stay at the Roosevelt and was very happy with my visit. I had a two Queen deluxe room and the room was very well appointed with a nice size bathroom and comfortable beds.

The location of the hotel is excellent, just off of Canal Street and a couple of blocks from Bourbon. Walgreen's conveniently located next door for anything you may have forgotten. The gift shop in the hotel had a lot of nice clothing and gift items with very helpful and friendly staff.

The pool area was clean and surprisingly relaxing and quiet. It had an okay bar though it seemed you had to go up to it to order something, they didn't seem to go around to the lounge chairs to offer service. I was able to enjoy a great massage at the Guerlain spa which I didn't feel was any higher price than other spas in similar resort hotels in the Waldorf Astoria chain. While I didn't ask, I was surprised I wasn't told if they had day privileges for whirlpools or saunas/steamrooms when you paid for a service like most spas I have been to. Not even sure if they had them. It was steamy enough outside, so I didn't feel like I missed out but if they have those services available, they should let their guests know when they check in for their service.

Domenica's was fabulous. We ate there twice. Excellent, good quality Mediterranean fare. I recommend the salami/cheese platter in the evening for an appetizer. Delicious! The roasted cauliflower was also amazing. The Sazerac Bar is an excellent choice for before dinner drinks. I recommend the Ramos Gin Fizz. So yummy! Like an orange creamsicle.

All in all, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
mrscherry2000,

And, we would love to welcome you back! Thank you for posting your review from your recent stay with us. We are very pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you were able to take advantage of the hotel's amenities.
Hopefully you were also able to enjoy the hotel's other dining options; The Sazerac Resturant and Teddy's Cafe. Just more great options for our guests. Thank you for allowing us to be your hotel of choice while in New Orleans and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Shorts would not be appropriate in the lobby. (That's a good thing) An elegant property in all respects. Don't miss the Sazarac Bar or Domenica restaurant where you'll find a charming and inspired chef.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Gerry G,

Thank you for coming back to Trip Advisor and posting your review. We love hearing from all of our guests and their stays. Although shorts may not seem appropriate for the lobby, it is getting quite warm and we do infact welcome the summer time apparel. Thank you for being our guest! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

The Roosevelt is a elegant hotel with a great location. It is near the Quarter without being in the craziness. The roof top pool is nice and service was good. My only complaint was the music they played at the pool which was somewhere between lounge lizard and elevator music.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear ChiHub,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us while in New Orleans! We appreciate your feedback and will use it to improve our guest's experience in the future. New Orleans can get quite crazy at times, but rest assured that we are in the perfect location to enjoy it all. We look forward to your next stay with us while you are visiting the city.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The room was comfortable, everything worked, the bed was comfortable and had nice linen, the concierge knew lots of stuff and was friendly and wonderful, the staff was friendly and knew a lot. There are three restaurants, one a coffee shop with packaged snacks and desserts and so on that is open long hours, one a lunch and dinner room kind of middle ground place, and one a more upscale place. There is a bar at the pool that serves food and drink, a bar right off the lobby, a mildly interesting gift shop, and a drop dead gorgeous lobby. What more could anyone want?

The spa is over the top expensive, so I didn't go, but it has a lot of advertised services.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Margray_53,

We appreciate you staying with us recently and also for letting the community know about your experience. Thank you so much for acknowledging the hotel's amenities and the amazing professionals who service our guests. The Roosevelt team thanks you for choosing to stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOVA
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Everything was wonderful. The room, the staff, the ambience, the roof-top pool. The location is great...your a few blocks from the Vieux Carre and right on Canal. Domenica is a bit overrated but there's plenty to like about this place. I'd stay there again and again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
mandem,

The Roosevelt New Orleans thanks you for stopping by to post your review! We would absolutely love to welcome you back again and again! New Orleans has so much going on, it will take multiple trips to experience everything that the city has to offer and we would enjoy being a part of it each time. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to be your hotel of choice.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Beautiful hotel, just far enough from bourbon street to avoid the noise but close enough to be in the action. The staff was excellent, the hotel was gorgeous, restaurants in the hotel were outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear jeanette c,

Perfect location, right?! We think so. The Roosevelt is located within walking distance to so many local attractions that we just have to boast about it! Thank you for choosing us as your hotel of choice while in New Orleans and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#4 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#6 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#18 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roosevelt Hotel New Orleans, a Waldorf Astoria hotel, provides guests with a sense of history and place. Offering 504 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites, The Roosevelt is adjacent to the French Quarter and is convenient to all New Orleans attractions. The hotel features Waldorf Astoria Spa and Fitness Center, Fountain Lounge and Sazerac Bar, and Chef John Besh's Domenica. Spacious guestrooms offer luxurious linens, flat-screen TVs, refreshment centers, bathrobes, safes, and 24 hour in-room dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Amex, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.