We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best of Waldorf Credit
Ranked #7 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Classy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Shorts would not be appropriate in the lobby. (That's a good thing) An elegant property in all respects. Don't miss the Sazarac Bar or Domenica restaurant where you'll find a charming and inspired chef.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Gerry G,

Thank you for coming back to Trip Advisor and posting your review. We love hearing from all of our guests and their stays. Although shorts may not seem appropriate for the lobby, it is getting quite warm and we do infact welcome the summer time apparel. Thank you for being our guest! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,243
    439
    133
    64
    33
See reviews for
256
766
84
502
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

The Roosevelt is a elegant hotel with a great location. It is near the Quarter without being in the craziness. The roof top pool is nice and service was good. My only complaint was the music they played at the pool which was somewhere between lounge lizard and elevator music.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear ChiHub,

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us while in New Orleans! We appreciate your feedback and will use it to improve our guest's experience in the future. New Orleans can get quite crazy at times, but rest assured that we are in the perfect location to enjoy it all. We look forward to your next stay with us while you are visiting the city.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The room was comfortable, everything worked, the bed was comfortable and had nice linen, the concierge knew lots of stuff and was friendly and wonderful, the staff was friendly and knew a lot. There are three restaurants, one a coffee shop with packaged snacks and desserts and so on that is open long hours, one a lunch and dinner room kind of middle ground place, and one a more upscale place. There is a bar at the pool that serves food and drink, a bar right off the lobby, a mildly interesting gift shop, and a drop dead gorgeous lobby. What more could anyone want?

The spa is over the top expensive, so I didn't go, but it has a lot of advertised services.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Margray_53,

We appreciate you staying with us recently and also for letting the community know about your experience. Thank you so much for acknowledging the hotel's amenities and the amazing professionals who service our guests. The Roosevelt team thanks you for choosing to stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOVA
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Everything was wonderful. The room, the staff, the ambience, the roof-top pool. The location is great...your a few blocks from the Vieux Carre and right on Canal. Domenica is a bit overrated but there's plenty to like about this place. I'd stay there again and again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
mandem,

The Roosevelt New Orleans thanks you for stopping by to post your review! We would absolutely love to welcome you back again and again! New Orleans has so much going on, it will take multiple trips to experience everything that the city has to offer and we would enjoy being a part of it each time. Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to be your hotel of choice.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Beautiful hotel, just far enough from bourbon street to avoid the noise but close enough to be in the action. The staff was excellent, the hotel was gorgeous, restaurants in the hotel were outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear jeanette c,

Perfect location, right?! We think so. The Roosevelt is located within walking distance to so many local attractions that we just have to boast about it! Thank you for choosing us as your hotel of choice while in New Orleans and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012 via mobile

So very pleased with our recent stay at The Roosevelt. We have stayed at various hotels in NOLA but this one by far is tops on our list. Honestly, there is nothing negative to say. Will absolutely return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Shelley12345,

Thanks for stopping by! Lets go ahead and start planning that next trip :)
There are many festivities in NOLA that are a must! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,

Mark T. Remer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachwood, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

A 2nd stay at the Roosevelt confirmed that the excellent service and elegant appointments experienced on my first visit – were the norm for this hotel and not the exception!

The Roosevelt is very conveniently located, within walking distance of the Quarter, Canal Street, St. Charles, even the WW II Museum (which I urge you to visit – even if you are not typically interested in American History). In addition to its location, the hotel over-delivers on its ambitious promises found on its website. You will be struck by the beauty and grandeur of the main lobby, from the moment you enter. Look for the unusual clock near the inside entry and take a moment to read about its mechanics. Off the lobby, Teddy’s offers an early morning espresso or late night gelato and pastries, fresh fruit and a sandwich menu all day long. The treats inside of Teddy’s are outstanding – not just “hotel coffee shop” quality. After your evening out, enjoy a cocktail in the Sazerac Lounge and read about the famous resident who once lived on the 12th floor of the hotel – and sample the drink that made the lounge famous.

Once in your room – you will enjoy peace and quiet behind the large solid-core door – that keeps any noise from the hallway… in the hallway. Our bathroom had a phone, a TV, as well as soaps, shampoos, and towels that matched the quality we’ve experienced in other fine hotels around the world. You will also enjoy the fine quality of the linens and mattress.

Make sure to reserve at least a few hours to enjoy the renovated rooftop pool. There is a full bar, which also has a food menu available. We did not visit the spa, although I would expect it to be on par with the other well executed parts of this hotel.

TRAVEL TIP: We took advantage of the $15/day self-parking that is available ½ block away and across the street – because we did not need the valet service @ $40/day.

If you are unsure of where to stay on your next trip to New Orleans – consider a stay at the Roosevelt and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear silvertravel,

Thank you so much for your continued loyalty and posting another review for the community to read about. We strive to exceed all of our guest's expectations to create loyal guests such as yourself. Your review full of great information is very much appreciated and I'm sure will prove to be helpful for other travelers.
Thanks again for your return visit! New Orleans has so much to take in, we hope that you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roosevelt Hotel New Orleans, a Waldorf Astoria hotel, provides guests with a sense of history and place. Offering 504 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites, The Roosevelt is adjacent to the French Quarter and is convenient to all New Orleans attractions. The hotel features Waldorf Astoria Spa and Fitness Center, Fountain Lounge and Sazerac Bar, and Chef John Besh's Domenica. Spacious guestrooms offer luxurious linens, flat-screen TVs, refreshment centers, bathrobes, safes, and 24 hour in-room dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, AAA Travel Services, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.