We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class Exemplifed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112 (Central Business District)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best of Waldorf Credit
Ranked #7 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Arlington, Virginia, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Class Exemplifed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I have stayed in the Roosvelt for a total of five nights over two business stays. The long opulent and historic hallway leads to a seamless check-in process. They make the guests feel like they are at home. I have stayed in the Deluxe room and Superior Room (both one King bed). The Superior room is huge (maybe 600 square feet or more) and may even be a little too big. No one could sleep on the couch so with a maximum of two people on the King bed, it is almost wasted space. However, it is cool to have a big room. The room and bathroom are impeccably clean. There is a television in the bathroom so I could watch Sportscenter in the morning through the glass shower doors. The soaps are from Ferragamo and smell really nice (like cologne, not some overly fruity orange ginger or some other generic hotel smell). There is turndown service at dinner time, including chocolate on the pillows, a card describing the next day's weather, and a complimentary shoe shine if one so desires. The one downside is the bed is really too soft. If you are used to a firm bed, you might struggle adjusting to the bed. Other than that, the hotel is excellent.

Ask for Tower 2, which looks onto another building rather than overlooking the street. This will save you some noise!

The hotel is less than three blocks from Bourbon Street and just a few minute walk from my favorite restaurant in New Orleans: Mr. B's Bistro on Royal St.

Room Tip: Ask for Tower 2 for a quieter experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
daves_32: Thank you for your kind review! We are so glad to hear that your experiences have been so great. It is very important that our guests have a wonderful arrival experience and our beautiful lobby allows this. Thank you so much and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,132
    406
    120
    59
    31
See reviews for
239
709
81
447
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisiana
Top Contributor
353 reviews 353 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We had a nice weekend visit to the Cresent City in New Orleasns at The Roosevelt. It really takes you back in time with the gorgeous lobby area. Our upgraded suite was fabulous and the food was excellent. Location is good and accessible to the many city's attractions. A must stay when traveling to the city.

Room Tip: Get the upgrade suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I could have moved in! Our suite was large, comfortable and very well appointed with beautiful furnishings, two flat panel TVs, a comfy bed and 1.5 baths. The charge for upgrading to a suite was a bargain compared to similar hotels and worth every penny. Two couples in our group stayed in "regular" rooms and they were also very nicely appointed. The location is very convenient to everything. The service was excellent. The old, historic elevators were a bit slow, but that is the price you pay for the ambiance. The Sazerac Bar was like walking back in time, with yummy cocktails and comfortable seating. I've stayed in many hotels in N.O. and nothing has compared to the Roosevelt. We are already planning a return trip!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

My 21 y/o twin daughters & I stayed @ The Roosevelt for their 1st trip to NOLA (my birthday present to them). The entire experience was absolutely AMAZING!!!! Every single thing was perfection! From Amr (who helped me w/ my reservations) to Jasmond (the night mgr) & Kelly (also working w/ him) to the bellmen (young, chocolate men whose names I forgot...sorry) to the concierges (and housekeeping) to the chef @ Domenica, the clerks in the gift shop & the shoe-shine man - - everyone was exceptional! All were welcoming (made us feel so special), friendly, professional, helpful & accommodating. My daughters ONLY want to stay at The Roosevelt from now on!! Looking forward to future NOLA trips & staying at The Roosevelt each time! I recommend it without hesitation & just rave about it!!!

Room Tip: 6th Floor, Tower 2 - King Luxury Suite - FABULOUS!! Seemed like we were the only ones on the floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear Karin H

On behalf of the entire team here at The Roosevelt; we thank you for your review and more importantly for allowing us to be part of this special occasion. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and happy that so many of us could assist in making this happen. Please do not hesitate to contact us again for future visits.

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Definitely worth the splurge. We had a suite w/ a large living room, a bedroom and 1.5 baths that was immaculate and beautiful. The pool area is fantastic, and the spa is the best ever!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
pjgator: Our Guerlain Spa IS the best ever! Thank you so much for being our guest and allowing us the opportunity to create a WOW experience! We look forward to you being our guest again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Hotel was conveniently located and very CLEAN! Great staff and rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
GrkKookla: Thank you so much for stopping by Trip Advisor and posting your review. We feel the hotel is in a prime location for all travelers no matter what brings them to the city. Please come back to see us again soon and experience the True Waldorf Service!

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Was here for a conference. Therefore, they offered us an excellent rate! Loved this location - everyone was extremely helpful with restaurant suggestions, etc. Concierge is extremely helpful here! Made most of our dinner reservations for us (for the nights that we didn't make in advance which I highly recommend).
They have great dining options here as well.
And, they have a great gym....a little small. But, you have to remember the age of the building, etc.
Will stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRoosevelt, Front Office Manager at The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear NancyPhoenix,


Thank you for noting some of the amazing amenities The Roosevelt has to offer. We also boast the BEST concierge staff around! Our team prides themselves on giving the most memorable experience possible while visiting the great city of New Orleans! Please do not hesitate to contact me for your next visit.

Mark T. Remer
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 130 Roosevelt Way, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#1 Spa Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Luxury Hotel in New Orleans
#2 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#7 Family Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roosevelt Hotel New Orleans, a Waldorf Astoria hotel, provides guests with a sense of history and place. Offering 504 luxuriously appointed guestrooms and suites, The Roosevelt is adjacent to the French Quarter and is convenient to all New Orleans attractions. The hotel features Waldorf Astoria Spa and Fitness Center, Fountain Lounge and Sazerac Bar, and Chef John Besh's Domenica. Spacious guestrooms offer luxurious linens, flat-screen TVs, refreshment centers, bathrobes, safes, and 24 hour in-room dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Astoria New Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roosevelt New Orleans, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.