We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, awesome location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dauphine Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off our best rates!
Ranked #24 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Denver
1 review
“Great hotel, awesome location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

This hotel is a gem right in the heart of the French Quarter. The whole staff was friendly and very helpful. Nicholas was especially helpful. The rooms were great, with comfortable beds and nice bathrooms. Our room was actually very quiet, even at night, despite being so close to Bourbon St. The included breakfast was quite convenient (the food is fine, but nothing special). The courtyard is beautiful with its pool and comfy lounge chairs. The best part is that this peaceful, well-appointed hotel is in fact located very close to all the excitement that the French Quarter has to offer. We were within walking distance of basically everything that we did on our trip. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a convenient location to experience what downtown New Orleans has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    599
    521
    116
    50
    23
See reviews for
187
553
27
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

This location of this hotel was perfect...it was a little off from Bourbon St, yet everything was within walking distance. I had a really really great time in New Orleans and I can't till we visit again.

Room: We stayed in one room with 4 girls. We shared two double beds and it was very comfortable. I really liked the pillows, but I tend to like pillows where my head sinks in. Bed was very comfortable and I had no trouble falling asleep. One annoyance is that the smoke detector had a blue light indicator. It was bothersome throughout my first night. We had a nice view of the pool area and the room was very quiet.

Service: I really enjoyed the breakfast. It was standard fruits, pastries, meat and eggs, but I was able to get my daily intake of fruits/vitamins. Otherwise, my other meals in New Orleans was far from "healthy". They had a internet in the lobby that all hotel guests can use.

Location: Amazing location! It was so convenient to Bourbon St, the farmer's markets, great eateries, etc. We pretty much walked everywhere!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Really nice place. Great location; friendly helpful staff; large comfortable rooms. Was completely happy.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

My wife and I chose to stay at the Dauphine Orleans partly because of its proximity to Bourbon Street and partly due to the good reviews we read; we were not disappointed.

The hotel is smallish (four floors in the main building and others in adjacent properties), with a small swimming pool we did not use because of the weather. The rooms in the main house were comfortable, with large beds and flat screen TV's. The housekeeping staff was very mindful of our rest, never bothering us until noon if we didn't venture out of the room, and the hotel bar, May Bailey's Place, was charming and intimate.

I honestly have no complaints about my stay here (no hidden fees during check-in, friendly staff, good accommodations), but on the contrary, I must say that the hotel was a perfect choice: close enough to walk to the heart of Bourbon Street, yet far enough from the noise to get a good night sleep.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

I found this hotel on Trip Advisor it was absolutely great! The location is perfect one block off Bourbon street and three blocks from Royal Street Shopping. The room was wonderful clean, great sheets, towels and pillows, tasteful colors, great little coffee maker in room, nice toiletries. Wonderful continental breakfast with fresh fruit and also had fresh waffles, cereal, muffins, bagels. We had a room with a balcony it was not noisy (we asked for balcony) Dauphin street is not that busy, but there is some minor street noise. Free wifi (the signal was a little weak so wouldn't plan on working too much!) . Staff was fantastic every single person at counter and valet attendant. Rooms were cleaned thoroughly daily. This was a fabulous boutique hotel and all of us felt we had a wonderful experience, great location, great condition and great service!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

We were so pleasantly surprised by this hotel, the staff is wonderful, the setting is so quiet and quaint, the beds are WONDERFUL! We really enjoyed the bar with freindly locals to talk to before we headed off to Bourbon Street which is just a short walk. LOVED IT and would recommend it to anyone looking for a reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in October. Basically, you get what you pay for. It was very reasonably priced but there were no frills… Clean, close to Bourbon and quiet. Lots of great restaurants and bars within walking distance. Only complaint we had was that there was a chlorine smell in the hallway but at least not in the bedrooms. Even though there are no frills I’d stay here again, how much time do you really want to spend in a hotel when you’re in NOLA?

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookIt.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dauphine Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.