We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dauphine Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off our best rates!
Ranked #29 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
New York, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

Really nice place. Great location; friendly helpful staff; large comfortable rooms. Was completely happy.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    565
    129
    53
    23
See reviews for
199
605
30
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Salvador
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

My wife and I chose to stay at the Dauphine Orleans partly because of its proximity to Bourbon Street and partly due to the good reviews we read; we were not disappointed.

The hotel is smallish (four floors in the main building and others in adjacent properties), with a small swimming pool we did not use because of the weather. The rooms in the main house were comfortable, with large beds and flat screen TV's. The housekeeping staff was very mindful of our rest, never bothering us until noon if we didn't venture out of the room, and the hotel bar, May Bailey's Place, was charming and intimate.

I honestly have no complaints about my stay here (no hidden fees during check-in, friendly staff, good accommodations), but on the contrary, I must say that the hotel was a perfect choice: close enough to walk to the heart of Bourbon Street, yet far enough from the noise to get a good night sleep.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

I found this hotel on Trip Advisor it was absolutely great! The location is perfect one block off Bourbon street and three blocks from Royal Street Shopping. The room was wonderful clean, great sheets, towels and pillows, tasteful colors, great little coffee maker in room, nice toiletries. Wonderful continental breakfast with fresh fruit and also had fresh waffles, cereal, muffins, bagels. We had a room with a balcony it was not noisy (we asked for balcony) Dauphin street is not that busy, but there is some minor street noise. Free wifi (the signal was a little weak so wouldn't plan on working too much!) . Staff was fantastic every single person at counter and valet attendant. Rooms were cleaned thoroughly daily. This was a fabulous boutique hotel and all of us felt we had a wonderful experience, great location, great condition and great service!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAllen, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

We were so pleasantly surprised by this hotel, the staff is wonderful, the setting is so quiet and quaint, the beds are WONDERFUL! We really enjoyed the bar with freindly locals to talk to before we headed off to Bourbon Street which is just a short walk. LOVED IT and would recommend it to anyone looking for a reasonably priced hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in October. Basically, you get what you pay for. It was very reasonably priced but there were no frills… Clean, close to Bourbon and quiet. Lots of great restaurants and bars within walking distance. Only complaint we had was that there was a chlorine smell in the hallway but at least not in the bedrooms. Even though there are no frills I’d stay here again, how much time do you really want to spend in a hotel when you’re in NOLA?

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed here because just like you we were looking for a hotel in the French Quarter that was close to Bourbon Street and got good reviews. However, now that I stayed here I don't believe the reviews went into enough detail about this hotel. The hotel is old enough that the pipes do not work. This translates into the toilet NOT flushing, tub not draining properly and the sink filling up even when the drain was open. Although the staff was great and quickly moved us into a different room when the toilet practically overflowed - after I had gone no less :( I would have much rather stayed at a place where the staff was snotty but the toilets flushed properly!
We are not a high maintenance couple and I never have anything bad to say about anything, but toilets not flushing is not acceptable.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville, tn
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

This was possibly one of the cutest hotels I've ever stayed in. I was upgraded to one of the historic rooms in the courtyard only to be surprised with the fact that they had a jacuzzi right outside the door. This was not listed as an amenity. The room was small, maybe 250 sf? Very nice clean bathroom with whirlpool tub. Flatscreen mounted on wall. This hotel had so much charm and the bar was my favorite of all the ones I went to during this trip. Very friendly staff as well and perfect location in the french quarter. P.S. I got this room for $89 a night, and it was excellent for that price!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dauphine Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.