We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Dauphine Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off our best rates!
Ranked #29 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The things we loved - We loved the location and the historic feel to the place. The bar was nice and staff were friendly. The room was good, and the bed really comfy. We were there for the JazzFest and it was great being in the centre of things and although our room on the front was a bit noisy it didn't stop us sleeping, and it enhanced the experience. The pool was a great asset. Breakfast was really good with more than enough food to keep you going all day. Having free bottled water in the room was appreciated. Reception staff were lovely and helpful.

The not so good - Some areas need upgrading. The carpets in the breakfast room were worn and looked a bit grubby (dirty), a breakfast area really needs a more suitable floor covering. The carpets in the bar were also worn and dirty, but in a bar that's not quite so bad. Did not like the fact that people were allowed to smoke around the pool area. The toiletries and coffee supplies in our room were not replaced when used, we had to ask for more. Even after we had mentioned this at reception they still were not replaced on subsequent days. We were there for 10 days and it annoys me that you do not get a reduction for longer stays after all they do not change sheets etc every day, or do thorough cleans as they need to do when new people come in every day. So not replenishing simple things like toiletries and coffees (and the small biscuits which we only got on the first night) is irritating. On the last two evenings of our stay the aircon panel in the ceiling leaked. The first time it happened it was an inconvenience, these things do happen, but we did not expect it to happen again on the next evening. Despite these things, which could easily be improved by the hotel, we would stay again as the good outweighed the bad.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are a bit noisier, but great if you have a balcony and can watch the world go by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    563
    129
    52
    23
See reviews for
198
603
30
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Second time and just as wonderful as the first time. I travel to NOLA monthly for work and try a different hotel everytime. But I just might be making this a favorite more often than not. Everyone is professional and friendly... the breakfast ladies are a ray of sunshine (Gwendolyn and Caroline) as are every single staff member from valet to desk clerk to maid. Makes being away from home a little less bearable!

Room Tip: I've stayed here in the past and the rooms are very quiet especially in this locale where the ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomona, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The Hotel staff was excellent, the bellman,my room was nice,
when i checked in the front desk the Ladies was Professional & Ready
Great location to stay, Breakfast!! **Love Josh Friendly Personality**

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We went on this trip to New Orleans with our to teenage boys. They stayed in a room on the third floor overlooking the street in the main hotel and we stayed in a first floor room facing the courtyard across the street. Both our rooms were perfect. I recommend the courtyard for adults as is quiet, romantic and the rooms are larger. Beds were very comfortable and rooms were quiet.

The front desk was very helpful and it was nice to have the option of valet parking. There were a couple of bachlor/bachlorette parties going on while we were there and I had to ask the front desk to have the pool area cleaned up - which they did very quickly.

The location is fantastic. You're a block from Bourban Street and steps from several great restaurants and sights. Considering the traffic gets pretty awful in the French Quarter, it was nice to be on the upper edge where it's easier to skirt around the traffic and get to other areas.

Room Tip: Get a room on the courtyard across the street from the lobby. Make sure they don't put you in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsNOHC, Guest Relations Manager at Dauphine Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hi Amy G,

We are glad to hear you had a wonderful stay with us! You are correct, our courtyard rooms are typically quieter, and perfect for guests wanting to take a break from the hustle and bustle of the city! We hope to serve you again on your next trip to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

we stayed at the Dauphine Orleans hotel in June, it was perfect for our three day stay. The staff were really helpful, the room was clean and had everything you would want. The pool was small but functional. It has a lovely bar but unfortunately due to a serious flood a few weeks earlier it did have a really musty smell, the staff did their best to cover it up with scented candles and I must admit after a few G&Ts it wasn't too bad!! The best thing about this hotel was the location, just one street back from Bourbon Street. I would have no problem recommending this hotel to my friends or family.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

After a bit of a rocky start, we were a little unsure of what to expect. We checked in late on a Fri night (about 10:00 pm) and after getting our keys, we made our way up to our room and found that it had not yet been cleaned from the previous guests. Once we made the front desk staff aware, they were very surprised, and couldn't have been more apologetic. They upgraded us to a bigger room for the night (at no extra charge) until the situation could be resolved. The next day, they promptly had our other room ready for us, and we moved there. The location is perfect...one block from Bourbon St., and just a few blocks from Canal St. business district. We were able to walk everywhere. The rooms are really spacious, and the beds are very comfortable. We were on the 2nd floor, and our view was of a brick wall, so if you want a view, ask for a room above floor 2. The rooms that face the street can be a bit noisy...traffic, people talking on the street, etc.
They serve a continental breakfast daily, and it's always fresh and well-stocked. When items needed replacing, we didn't have to wait but just a few minutes. They also offer afternoon tea and cookies. When you check in, you get a free drink voucher from the hotel bar, May Baileys. After the issue with our room, the front desk staff generously gave us extra vouchers. I was expecting watered down drinks since they were free, but this was not the case. The bartenders are very generous when pouring...the drinks were excellent! The pool area is really nice but very small. Think they have only about 6 chairs there, and they were already taken when we went to breakfast every morning (about 9am), so if you want a chair, get there early!
I can't say enough about the staff. The entire hotel staff were friendly and extremely helpful. They suggested spots to hit in the city, made reservations for us, and even helped reserve tours. Everyone from the front desk staff, houskeeping, valets, doormen, etc. were so friendly. Every evening when we got back to the hotel the valet staff would always "welcome us back home". We will definitly be checking into Dauphine Orleans again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsNOHC, Guest Relations Manager at Dauphine Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hi James F,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We are delighted to hear that your experience with us was great. We take customer service very seriously, and feedback is important to us. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucedale
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in many hotels in New Orleans, and the Dauphine Orleans is our favorite so far. It is located in the heart of the French Quarter and has a unique New Orleans feel. Our room was clean, the amenities were outstanding, and the staff was exceptional from the bellman to the servers at breakfast. We will most definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dauphine Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.