We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location/Friendly staff will keep me coming back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dauphine Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off our best rates!
Ranked #23 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Location/Friendly staff will keep me coming back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After a bit of a rocky start, we were a little unsure of what to expect. We checked in late on a Fri night (about 10:00 pm) and after getting our keys, we made our way up to our room and found that it had not yet been cleaned from the previous guests. Once we made the front desk staff aware, they were very surprised, and couldn't have been more apologetic. They upgraded us to a bigger room for the night (at no extra charge) until the situation could be resolved. The next day, they promptly had our other room ready for us, and we moved there. The location is perfect...one block from Bourbon St., and just a few blocks from Canal St. business district. We were able to walk everywhere. The rooms are really spacious, and the beds are very comfortable. We were on the 2nd floor, and our view was of a brick wall, so if you want a view, ask for a room above floor 2. The rooms that face the street can be a bit noisy...traffic, people talking on the street, etc.
They serve a continental breakfast daily, and it's always fresh and well-stocked. When items needed replacing, we didn't have to wait but just a few minutes. They also offer afternoon tea and cookies. When you check in, you get a free drink voucher from the hotel bar, May Baileys. After the issue with our room, the front desk staff generously gave us extra vouchers. I was expecting watered down drinks since they were free, but this was not the case. The bartenders are very generous when pouring...the drinks were excellent! The pool area is really nice but very small. Think they have only about 6 chairs there, and they were already taken when we went to breakfast every morning (about 9am), so if you want a chair, get there early!
I can't say enough about the staff. The entire hotel staff were friendly and extremely helpful. They suggested spots to hit in the city, made reservations for us, and even helped reserve tours. Everyone from the front desk staff, houskeeping, valets, doormen, etc. were so friendly. Every evening when we got back to the hotel the valet staff would always "welcome us back home". We will definitly be checking into Dauphine Orleans again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsNOHC, Guest Relations Manager at Dauphine Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi James F,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback! We are delighted to hear that your experience with us was great. We take customer service very seriously, and feedback is important to us. We hope to see you again on your next trip to New Orleans!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    575
    514
    114
    51
    22
See reviews for
179
543
25
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lucedale
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed in many hotels in New Orleans, and the Dauphine Orleans is our favorite so far. It is located in the heart of the French Quarter and has a unique New Orleans feel. Our room was clean, the amenities were outstanding, and the staff was exceptional from the bellman to the servers at breakfast. We will most definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in the Herman house which was quiet and nicely appointed. We didnt know when booking however that the pool and main hotel area is across the street. Its not a big deal unless you want to go back and forth to the pool a lot which we did not care about.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

1st time in NO and very glad we selected the Dauphine Orleans. Great location, decent complimentary continental breakfast, friendly and responsive staff. We were in the carriage house, so it was a bit rustic (musty) but the room was cozy with jacuzzi tub and walk in shower. Bellman/doorman (Mervin?) was very helpful and provided useful information with Southern hospitality. Would have been better if smoking were banned in the small, enclosed area around the pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful and quiet hotel one block from the craziness of Bourbon Street. Large rooms...clean and comfortable. Loved the staff! Everyone was friendly and very helpful. Very convenient to everything in the French Quarter. We were able to walk everywhere we went. Will visit again!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canal Winchester, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel has character but it is old so it does have a musty smell. The staff is friendly and helpfully. Housekeeping was there daily. The breakfast in the morning was refreshing. Jade who works in the dining area was extremely friendly and helpful. The pool area was lovely. The atmosphere in May Baily's was relaxing. I will gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay a few days to get the entire feel that NOLA has to offer. It was my first time there. And I a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Oaks, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We checked in a little early and were met by friendly staff and the check in process was great. They Upgraded our room for a very small fee and put us in a spacious cottage room in the back. When we walked into the room we were very happy with the layout - a sitting area with desk,couch and tv. The king size bed was comfortable and the double vanity bathroom was large - only no shower just a whirlpool tub. Not being a fan of bathtubs I was not happy they didn't mention this but I decided to overlook it. Not noticing anything out of the ordinary we went out sightseeing and returned a few hours later. My wife thought she noticed mouse droppings on the comforter but I laughed it off as she brushed it off and said it was only dirt. Every morning we were awakened by the people coming and going from the hotel coffee lounge next to us. The room was very noisy and the doors did not seal at all letting in every sound. The last day we woke up to mouse droppings on the comforter, on the night stand as well as on the couch. We pulled the sheets back to look and found more droppings in the sheets as well as a blood spot on the sheets - and it wasn't ours! I spoke to the manager who wouldn't confirm (the three droppings I brought him in a cup) what they were until their pest control guy came out and confirmed it. The lady at the front desk seemed to be well aware of what they were. It took a while but when we returned a few hours later we were told it was "water bug" droppings and not mouse droppings. They did refund our money but no one took responsibility and that's what ends it for me. It's too bad because the staff was great. Not staying here ever again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dauphine Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.