We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dauphine Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off our best rates!
Ranked #29 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
2 reviews
“Great Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

1st time in NO and very glad we selected the Dauphine Orleans. Great location, decent complimentary continental breakfast, friendly and responsive staff. We were in the carriage house, so it was a bit rustic (musty) but the room was cozy with jacuzzi tub and walk in shower. Bellman/doorman (Mervin?) was very helpful and provided useful information with Southern hospitality. Would have been better if smoking were banned in the small, enclosed area around the pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    565
    129
    53
    23
See reviews for
199
605
30
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful and quiet hotel one block from the craziness of Bourbon Street. Large rooms...clean and comfortable. Loved the staff! Everyone was friendly and very helpful. Very convenient to everything in the French Quarter. We were able to walk everywhere we went. Will visit again!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canal Winchester, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

The hotel has character but it is old so it does have a musty smell. The staff is friendly and helpfully. Housekeeping was there daily. The breakfast in the morning was refreshing. Jade who works in the dining area was extremely friendly and helpful. The pool area was lovely. The atmosphere in May Baily's was relaxing. I will gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay a few days to get the entire feel that NOLA has to offer. It was my first time there. And I a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spanky3940
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed here to celebrate our anniversary and really loved this place. The service was outstanding and the employees were very helpful answering all of our questions about New Orleans and the surrounding areas. We got there a little later than expected but great at the front desk by a very nice young man. He explained to us that they had booked to many rooms like the one we requested but said he was giving us an up grade to a suite. I told him that was even better because it was our anniversary and that made us feel special. We then left to go out and eat after we delivered our luggage to the room and when we got back they had delivered us a comp bottle of champagne. We really loved this place and will go back for sure.
PS We did not eat at hotel so we did not rate room service or restaurant.

Room Tip: Try the suite in the Herman House, it is very comfortable and has all the luxuries of home. The AC w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We were two couples who haven't been to New Orleans in many years, just enjoying a couple days there before boarding a river boat cruise. Our cruise line recommended Dauphine Orleans for our two night stay. We couldn't be more pleased with the hotel. Charming ambiance, clean and large rooms, good breakfasts and very friendly and helpful staff. The ladies in the breakfast room are delightful. The location is ideal for proximity to the French Quarter, yet with quiet atmosphere in the hotel.. And May Bailey's lounge is a great place to relax. On top of that, the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestRelationsNOHC, Guest Relations Manager at Dauphine Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Hi 739JimB,

We are delighted to hear that you had a great time in New Orleans before your cruise! Thank you for your lovely words about our hotel. The comfort of our guests is our number one priority, and we pride ourselves on having exquisite customer service and old-fashioned Southern charm. We hope we get the opportunity to serve you again on your next trip to our city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed here during a weekend and enjoyed my stay. The front desk manager, Josh, was very accommodating and courteous, and the rest of the hotel staff was very polite. The room had everything you'd need but the buildings are older. Although you should expect a switch or two not to work and the hair dryer or iron to be a bit older, you won't complain about the air conditioning.

I was surprised at how quiet it was, too, given that Bourbon street is only the next street over from Dauphine. If you're like me and you want to avoid some of the more boisterous guests, stay in the Hermann House across the street from the main building.

Room Tip: Pick either Room 242, or ask for one of the suites in the Hermann House, if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The location of this hotel was perfect. This was my first time to New Orleans, so I really wanted a hotel close to everything. The rooms were very spacious and clean. The pool was nice to cool off in or just spend a day relaxing. The lobby staff were very helpful in giving directions and helping us book a tour. The breakfast room staff were awesome, making sure everything stayed full on the buffet and kept clean. My only complaint would be that after 5 days the same breakfast was getting old. It would be better if they could rotate in a few different items. The tea, lemon water and cookies offered every afternoon were lovely! I am hoping to return to
NOLA again and I will definitely return to the Dauphine Orleans!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#24 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dauphine Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.