We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but poor accommodation.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Dauphine Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off & Free Breakfast
Ranked #36 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place but poor accommodation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Second time in a row we made reservations months in advance and we asked for a certain type of room and were denied when we arrived. We have been staying at Dauphine Orleans for years! We love the coziness of the place in general and the bar is great but not sure if we will stay again if the room is not right for us.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    785
    668
    155
    62
    28
See reviews for
251
732
35
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Purcell, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

On a quick trip to New Orleans we stayed at the Dauphine. It's close to good restaurants, Bourbon Street and shops. The staff was very helpful and their breakfast was a great start to the day. Only complaint was that we had to climb stairs to our room. After a long day of walking and shopping stairs were a hurdle.

Room Tip: Find a room where you don't have to walk stairs because their rooms were great otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Quaint, charming, quiet hotel just 2 short blocks from bourbon street. Love the pool, courtyard, breakfast, and may baileys place bar. Tons of character and French quarter charm and in a great location- close to all the action!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Campo, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Dauphine Orleans is in a great spot relative to Bourbon Street and great restaurants in the French Quarter. The hotel has a really neat history (don't want to spoil the story, but make sure to read the brief history in the hotel books in the room).

Room Tip: Suggest a room in the main part of the hotel closer to the center of the property. We stayed in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We love this little hotel. It's steps from Bourbon St and all the crazy action but quiet. Surrounded by great restaurants, antique shops, jewellery shops, bars and cafes. A short walk from the square and the cathedral. A stroll to the French Market.
The rooms are spacious with King beds, a little shabby but who cares. The staff are very helpful. Take their tour recommendations.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
124 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The hotel is very nice. We got a good price through Hotel Tonight and we are more than satisfied. Memory foam bed, plenty of towels, quiet, in other words, just perfect for what we wanted. There are several connected building with courtyards and pathways between them. It gives you the feel of exactly how old the buildings are. Its location is prime as well. There are lots of excellent restaurants and music venues within an easy walk. Besides, they have a few ghosts.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

For our first visit to New Orlean, I have to admit I was a bit sceptical and wasn't sure what to expect for a hotel in downtown NOLA - however, I was blown away by the charm and exceptional character of The Dauphine and would definitely stay again! We stayed for 4 nights across the street in a Premium Hermann King Room. The exposed brick walls and ceiling beams added so much character to the room. Complimentary breakfast and wifi were a bonus. Very clean and great location. Amazingly quiet given how close to Bourbon St the hotel is.

Room Tip: The Hermann rooms across the street have fantastic charm and a lovely courtyard garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#6 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,513 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,061 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#9 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#5 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,751 reviews
French Quarter
Place d'Armes Hotel
Place d'Armes Hotel
#41 of 155 in New Orleans
4.0 of 5 stars 1,815 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#21 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#34 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Expedia, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dauphine Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.