We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dauphine Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off & Free Breakfast
Ranked #35 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Can't say enough as to the wonderful staff at the Dauphine Orleans. They were thoughtful, knowledgeable, courteous and most kind. The accommodations were clean, comfortable and charming. The hotel location is perfect as you can walk to everthing in the Quarter but have the advantage of being a block away from the "Bourbon Beat" which allows for quiet time. No question, this is my hotel of choice when staying in NOLA.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the hotel or courtyard might provide a bit more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    658
    152
    58
    27
See reviews for
241
715
34
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed in the Hammond House, the room was spacious and full of old world charm unusual for a city centre hotel. The Courtyard was the ideal place to chill out after a day walking the quarter, visiting local music clubs and restaurants.

Room Tip: 237 very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We brought a friend to New Orleans to celebrate her birthday and had a fantastic stay. The hotel was perfectly located and clean as could be. The staff was extrememly friendly and accomadating. The pool area was beautiful and the free breakfast was a nice perk. It was more than your normal continental breakfast....it included sausage and waffle makers along with hard boiled eggs, pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal etc. My only complaint was that we had to request a refreigerator 3 times for my friends room before we got it.....but all in all a very small complaint.

Room Tip: Being in the main house was nice so that we didn't have to walk accross the street for breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I was surprised at the overall run down feel to this hotel. My room was quiet but it smelled old, musty and damp. It had a bad odor permeating it. the mattress was old and sagged. I would not stay here again. It needs to be cleaned and seriously upgraded. It is not charming or nice in the current condition.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
666 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 383 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

If you stay at this hotel, highly recommend you request a room away from the street. The hotel met our request for a non street facing room and as a result we had mostly peaceful sleeps over our 6 night stay. I say mostly as one night the exhaust fan in garage was allowed to be on until 1am and the noise was totally unacceptable. Despite requests from 11pm to turn it off, and we understand many others annoyed, response lacked enthusiasm. Check in was efficient, and check out equally problem free. Most staff pleasant but they have a few that lack personality and interest. Our king room size was moderate and only just adequate. Bed comfortable with plenty of pillows. Airconditioning worked ok but annoying could not open windows for fresh air. Good bathroom and facilities, plenty of TV channels with flat screen. There is no refrigerator but ice on each floor. Coffee only in room but tea in breakfast area and also in lobby 4-6 pm daily. Excellent breakfast choice. Free wifi worked ok, also an ok small fitness centre plus pool for cooling off but not lap swimming. Best of all is the location, every attraction in French Quarter is walking distance and close to trolley car pick up. Plenty of off street parking but pay local prices. Rooms and passageways are looking tired, carpet in room needed a serious shampoo but better still replacement. Overall enjoyed stay but hope upgrade comess before next visit.

Room Tip: Request non street facing and away from pool and courtyard areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our stay at the Dauphine was our first. We stayed in the Hammond House across the street in a premium king upper level room. The bed was extremely comfortable & the bathroom vanity gave us enough space for both of us to get ready at the same time. The furnishings & carpet are worn & could use some updating. The continental breakfast had a wide variety of delicious choices & was very welcome before we embarked on another busy day. The location is great & far enough away from noise on Bourbon St. All of the staff was helpful & friendly. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose Park, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had a wedding to go to at the City Park in NOLA on 4-19, so we decided to make a little vacation out of it since we've been wanting to visit New Orleans. After looking around at a bunch of hotels, and reading reviews we decided on the Dauphine bc the reviews were good, and it was the most reasonably priced of all the other hotels we looked at. SO GLAD WE STAYED THERE! We checked in on a Wednesday, so we got our room right away. We drove from Chicago, and the staff working in the garage were veryyy nice and welcoming, specifically Mike. We talked to quite a few others, which i do not know their names but every day each one of them would say hello, and give us tips for what to do while in NOLA. No problems checking in, front desk ladies were very nice, gave us drink tickets for the bar, and sent us up to our room! We stayed in the Deluxe King Standard room. Small, cozy, just enough space for us. Bed was veryyy comfy! The only reason I did not give 5 stars because the room was slightly dusty over the lamps...nothing that really grossed me out though. We honestly were not in the room that much, so it wasnt a big deal. The door didnt close all the way, but the hotel is old so it needed to be pulled. It definately gave us the full "NOLA" experience with its age and beauty. I wish there were more windows-I like the natural sunlight, but we did at least have one window with shutters. We did not have a fridge or microwave, but like i said we were not in the room that much so it was no biggie.

Pool area nice, fitness center nice. Every one of the staff were welcoming and I really cannot think of anything negative to say. We also booked a Swamp Tour through the ladies at the front desk...I would reccommend doing a little research on which Swamp tour you do. The one they set up for us was fun, but later on Bourbon Street we met a guy that paid less and got to see more gators. Anyways....the Dauphine is honestly a GREAT location...it is close to EVERYTHING-a Block away from Bourbon St, close to the French Market, Walking distance to Canal/Garden District. I would DEFINATELY stay there again without question!!!

Room Tip: We met an older couple who stayed in the rooms outside of the main hotel, they are much bigger..in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#30 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Orbitz, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dauphine Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.