We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, enjoyable stay, but rooms in need of refurbishment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dauphine Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off our best rates!
Ranked #25 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
495 reviews 495 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
“Great location, enjoyable stay, but rooms in need of refurbishment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

If you stay at this hotel, highly recommend you request a room away from the street. The hotel met our request for a non street facing room and as a result we had mostly peaceful sleeps over our 6 night stay. I say mostly as one night the exhaust fan in garage was allowed to be on until 1am and the noise was totally unacceptable. Despite requests from 11pm to turn it off, and we understand many others annoyed, response lacked enthusiasm. Check in was efficient, and check out equally problem free. Most staff pleasant but they have a few that lack personality and interest. Our king room size was moderate and only just adequate. Bed comfortable with plenty of pillows. Airconditioning worked ok but annoying could not open windows for fresh air. Good bathroom and facilities, plenty of TV channels with flat screen. There is no refrigerator but ice on each floor. Coffee only in room but tea in breakfast area and also in lobby 4-6 pm daily. Excellent breakfast choice. Free wifi worked ok, also an ok small fitness centre plus pool for cooling off but not lap swimming. Best of all is the location, every attraction in French Quarter is walking distance and close to trolley car pick up. Plenty of off street parking but pay local prices. Rooms and passageways are looking tired, carpet in room needed a serious shampoo but better still replacement. Overall enjoyed stay but hope upgrade comess before next visit.

Room Tip: Request non street facing and away from pool and courtyard areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    564
    506
    113
    51
    22
See reviews for
173
535
24
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, OK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our stay at the Dauphine was our first. We stayed in the Hammond House across the street in a premium king upper level room. The bed was extremely comfortable & the bathroom vanity gave us enough space for both of us to get ready at the same time. The furnishings & carpet are worn & could use some updating. The continental breakfast had a wide variety of delicious choices & was very welcome before we embarked on another busy day. The location is great & far enough away from noise on Bourbon St. All of the staff was helpful & friendly. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose Park, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We had a wedding to go to at the City Park in NOLA on 4-19, so we decided to make a little vacation out of it since we've been wanting to visit New Orleans. After looking around at a bunch of hotels, and reading reviews we decided on the Dauphine bc the reviews were good, and it was the most reasonably priced of all the other hotels we looked at. SO GLAD WE STAYED THERE! We checked in on a Wednesday, so we got our room right away. We drove from Chicago, and the staff working in the garage were veryyy nice and welcoming, specifically Mike. We talked to quite a few others, which i do not know their names but every day each one of them would say hello, and give us tips for what to do while in NOLA. No problems checking in, front desk ladies were very nice, gave us drink tickets for the bar, and sent us up to our room! We stayed in the Deluxe King Standard room. Small, cozy, just enough space for us. Bed was veryyy comfy! The only reason I did not give 5 stars because the room was slightly dusty over the lamps...nothing that really grossed me out though. We honestly were not in the room that much, so it wasnt a big deal. The door didnt close all the way, but the hotel is old so it needed to be pulled. It definately gave us the full "NOLA" experience with its age and beauty. I wish there were more windows-I like the natural sunlight, but we did at least have one window with shutters. We did not have a fridge or microwave, but like i said we were not in the room that much so it was no biggie.

Pool area nice, fitness center nice. Every one of the staff were welcoming and I really cannot think of anything negative to say. We also booked a Swamp Tour through the ladies at the front desk...I would reccommend doing a little research on which Swamp tour you do. The one they set up for us was fun, but later on Bourbon Street we met a guy that paid less and got to see more gators. Anyways....the Dauphine is honestly a GREAT location...it is close to EVERYTHING-a Block away from Bourbon St, close to the French Market, Walking distance to Canal/Garden District. I would DEFINATELY stay there again without question!!!

Room Tip: We met an older couple who stayed in the rooms outside of the main hotel, they are much bigger..in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Over the years, we have stayed at the Dauphine Orleans many times. This was our first trip back since two months before Katrina. The physical property itself is beginning to show its age and I think some overall updating would be in order. That said,the location is really excellent and convenient to anywhere that you would want to go. There is valet parking and the parking charge is $35 a day, which although it is high, is fairly typical for city parking.Our room was in good condition with complimentary bottled water, but housekeeping was very slow. We left the room at 9:00 and returned at 4:30 and nothing had been done. Finally someone came to came to clean the room at 4:45. This was really inconvenient. The street noise is continual, as people have said, with garbage trucks, car alarms, people shouting in the streets, but that would be the case anyplace in the Quarter. The breakfast area is very clean and nice and the breakfast provided was very good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Overall, very good and I would stay their again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We traveled to New Orleans for an event, not 100% a vacation/tourist weekend.

First, the positives. The hotel is in an ideal location. We were able to walk everyplace we needed to go or took a street car, which is just a few blocks away. The staff were all very friendly. The complimentary breakfast was consistent with other hotel free breakfast offers.

Now, the not so positives. While the hotel is in a great location, that comes with drawbacks. Our room was located in the carriage house overlooking the pool. We were able to hear all the street noise in our room. All night long. Every night the outdoor furniture was being moved around (not sure if it was by guests or hotel workers cleaning) and it was a loud metal on brick grinding sound. Very loud and very unpleasant. Sleeping was an issue and I've never had issues sleeping in hotels before this trip. The room was in serious need of maintenance. There was no hot water, warm water at best, so showers were quick. The AC was turned as low as we could get it but the temp was inconsistent and the room constantly humid/stuffy. And there were noticeable areas where the tile, grout, and sheetrock need to be patched.

While this was not an unpleasant hotel or experience, the positives weren't stellar enough to outweigh the drawbacks. Next time, I'd consider a different hotel knowing that I'm taking street noise chances anyplace in the French Quarter.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Loved this place. Convenient location. Staff very attentive and helpful. The continental breakfast was above and beyond your basic and the courtyard and pool areas were nice, quaint and quiet for relaxation. We did not have a view but know next time to ask for one. It was a short but wonderful visit and will certain return next time I am in New Orleans!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The location is as nice as people report it to be. That being said, I'd happily stay on the edge of the Quarter for better facilities. All my encounters with staff have been pleasant. The rooms are decent sized and nicely furnished. I had a balcony room which overlooks an interior car park. The doors are not airtight by any means. Sound (people talking, car alarms, garbage cans scraping the ground) can be easily heard. Moisture could get in. The balconies are all very close together. I could easily climb to each of my friends balconies one and two doors down. My main complaint is the overall swampiness of the room and hotel. The ceilng in the hallways to the rooms were low and had water damage through out. The breakfast room /bar area which is a street level (there are no basements in NO) had a dehumidifier goIng at 9am on a clear sunny day with no humidity. The carpet in my second floor room felt damp all of the time. I hate that. I understand that it is an old structure but there is some deferred maintenance that needs to be done.. I would not stay here again and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#30 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dauphine Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.