We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient, cute boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dauphine Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off our best rates!
Ranked #25 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very convenient, cute boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at the Dauphine Orleans for the Rock N Roll marathon. The location was near perfect to get to everything in the French Quarter, and is just a block off the really noisy bits. If we were to do the marathon again, though, I think I'd go closer to the convention center or stay on Poydras directly, just for the added convenience. Regardless it was still close enough to walk to the convention center and shuttles.

Everyone working there was really nice and had great advice. The breakfast was a well stocked typical hotel breakfast bar. The only downside to our room was that it was right over the garage and any time someone remotely locked a car the horn echoed through the room. I would stay here again, but not on the 2nd floor.

Elevator service is very quick, and the courtyard is nice. You will have to walk through outdoor space to get to the bar and breakfast, so consider that in your plans if there's rain. Next time we'll go without the kids and really take advantage of all they had to offer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    569
    513
    114
    51
    22
See reviews for
178
540
24
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Hotel room was very small and dark, even for a handicap accessible room. Staff was lovely. Very helpful and chatted with us quite a bit to help us choose tours, restaurants, etc. Hotel location was nice and close to most things in french quarter. Steps to Bourbon street and far enough away that it wasn't too noisy. We did unfortunately have drunk girls screaming at 3am in the hallways. So if you are not into the drinking all day type of thing, look for a hotel a bit father from Bourbon street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruston, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

What a fabulous location, great staff, and comfortable and clean. We plan to make Dauphine our "Go to" New Orleans hotel. You can walk to everything, and the hotel bar is just perfect for a pre and post dinner drink. Can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lene
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great place to stay, staff friendly and helpful to our large group. Park your car there and most everything is within walking distance. Breakfast has something for everyone. Definitely recommend the Dauphine!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Excellent location, great staff, comfortable hotel.
Tough to beat the location - a block away from Bourbon Street. That said, we couldn't believe how quiet our rooms were. We expected it to be noisy (given it was Mardi Gras!) but had no problem sleeping even though we crashed a whole lot earlier than most! Very comfortable beds helped the cause as well.
Our room was a bit smaller than the picture indicated but it certainly wasn't cramped.
Bathroom could use a little bit of an update but it was very clean as was the rest of the room.
Breakfast was much better than expected with very friendly staff (as was the case with all the staff we encountered during our stay).
There's a restaurant a block away (also on Dauphine) called Louisiana Bistro -- outstanding food and service there!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantagh, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The staff at this hotel makes your stay an excellent one. Everyone is sincerely friendly and helpful. The front desk is quick to make reservations and keep in touch w/what you want/need. The furniture in our room was a la Salvation Army, so if that matters, well, re-think that, as the staff is so nice the furniture does not matter.

The front rooms which are on Dauphine Street are noisy in the early morning because of the garbage trucks and perhaps deliveries, but if you are from a place like New York City the noise is nothing. ALSO, Dauphine, is one street over from Bourbon, which, luckily is enough of a distance for you not to be bothered by the raucous crowd. Everything you would like to see in the French Quarter is an easy walk from the Dauphine.

The breakfast is the same each morning, and always excellent quality. It includes sausage and hard-boiled eggs, waffles, whole grain breads, fresh fruit ... etc.

Taxis are a good idea. Sometimes we would taxi "there" and walk back. Pedicabs seem to not be regulated cost-wise and we think we were cheated. We travelled the St. Charles Street trolley w/excellent success.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We requested a room for 2 nights on the top floor of the main building away from the main street. The room was clean but most important it was quiet. The hotel is in a great location and I would stay there again! The continental breakfast is pretty standard but nice to have in the morning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dauphine Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.