We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dauphine Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off our best rates!
Ranked #24 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Lake Forest, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We recently stayed at the Dauphine Orleans for 4 nights and really enjoyed it. Staff was so amazingly nice! Room was surprisingly quiet (thought for sure that we would get no sleep being right off Bourbon St.). I would definitely stay here next time I'm in New Orleans!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    574
    511
    114
    51
    22
See reviews for
179
540
25
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at the Dauphine Orleans hotel for a weekend getaway/anniversary. What a sweet place! The layout of the hotel is unique, and I had a bit of trouble figuring out which room to choose ahead of time, (we wanted quiet, limited street noise). We chose the Carriage House Premium King, and it was perfect. It's located in the interior courtyard of the hotel attached to the fitness center, ground floor. The beds are really comfortable, with Tempur-pedic mattresses, so we slept great. Mostly, the staff is what makes the place so special. All of them, from the desk staff to the valets, were extremely helpful and friendly. They helped us with our dinner reservations, even helped us store some plants that we bought. (not easy, they were big). This is our fifth trip to the NOLA area, we've stayed in great hotels, this is definitely one of them.

Room Tip: Carriage house was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Customer service was good- great valet service. Paid for the superior king balcony room- little bit of a disappointment. Couldn't get out to the balcony- window would not open up enough. And the window did not close- which meant for a lot of street noise. But excellent bed! Continental breakfast was great! Pool looked good but too cold to get in. Great location. Nice but probably will stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Maybe choose a different type of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville Centre, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We just concluded our 4 nights stay here, and it met all my expectations. The rooms (we had 2) were very clean and beds very comfortable. Our room was quiet throughout our stay (we were on the top floor). The front desk were consistently delightful, allowing us to check in before 12 noon upon arrival. It's also a great location, just one block off of Bourbon Street, but a whole other world in terms of peace and quiet. The Continental breakfast was fine with a variety of selections to please most people, and they serve it till 10 am M - F and 11 on the weekends. Drawer space was somewhat limited in our room as someone else pointed out - they should put a decent size chest of drawers in the rooms. I would definitely come back here.

Room Tip: Non- balcony rooms looked to be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed in the Dauphine Orleans hotel for a long weekend and really enjoyed it's charm and staff. We chose one of the Hermann House rooms and would definitely recommend it. The rooms were a little smaller than the picture makes them appear but still large for a room in the quarter. The Hermann House rooms have their own entrance and courtyard and are much more secuded than the rooms in the main hotel. The character of the hotel really makes it and I love the history behind the rooms and the hotel. I searched for a long time prior to our stay looking for this information and wish they would include more of it on their website. There's a small book in the room that gives a much more in depth history that was just so cool. The location is great because it's more central in the Quarter and you can easily walk anywhere you want to go. This was our second trip to the area in a year and we stayed in the Bourban Orleans hotel last time. My wife and I both prefer the Dauphine Orleans and will stay here again.

Room Tip: Go for a ground floor Hermann House room. It's secluded and quiet with a private courtyard. So...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great value for sugar bowl. Excellent location. Friendly staff. Room was very comfortable, lot of charm in very comfortable setting. Breakfast, wi-fi, and afternoon tea all included. Walkable to French quarter and super dome. Front desk staff has great restaurant recommendations.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had a wonderful 3-day stay in New Orleans - and commented to each other frequently how glad we were that we had chosen to stay at the Dauphine Orleans. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We enjoyed every bit of the experience. The drink coupons to May Bailey's were most appreciated, too. Our only complaint was very minor; the fitted sheet for the King Sized bed was too small and we had to adjust it frequently. Everything else was perfect -- the location, the price, the room size. Our regret is that we chose 3 very rainy days in New Orleans so we didn't have a chance to sit out on the lovely courtyard. We will definitely book reservations at the Dauphine on our next trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#26 Business Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dauphine Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.