We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and has lots of character.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dauphine Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off our best rates!
Ranked #27 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Lake Charles, La
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location and has lots of character.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for a quick romantic getaway. I didn't want to stay at a chain hotel this time I wanted something with New Orleans character. The Dauphine def has the character and its in a great location. Easy walk to Bourbon and French Quarter. But just far enough off beaten path to be quiet. We stayed across the street t The Hermann House. Loved the courtyard and the exposed brick in the room. Rooms are small but quaint. HINT: there is NO elevator at Hermann House so when they ask if you want help with bags take it:). My only complaint was maid service was lacking a bit. They left our used wash rags and our used champagne glasses in the room. Not a huge deal but if I'm paying $250 a night I just expected a little more. But again, if you're looking for a New Orleans hotel this would be it. It's not a Hilton but that's part of the charm. Be sure if you stay here check out the history of the hotel and May Bailys place. Very interesting:)

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    538
    121
    50
    23
See reviews for
196
577
27
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

There was some outside renovations going on that put the pool out of service but it was too cold anyway. Nice hotel, friendly, helpful staff and a free breakfast, all for a reasonable price. And the best part is its location, just blocks from everything you want to walk to.
The only complaint was no refrigerator in the room, one was available for $25, Come on , for that price every room should have a fridge. But at least they did not charge for access to the internet. Free wireless was available in the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Booked 2 nights at the hotel on the strength of previous reviews and was not disappointed. The staff are excellent and very friendly and welcoming. Hotel is ideally placed one block from Bourbon Street and provides a complimentary breakfast every morning. Other little touches such as chocolates on your pillow and free coffee and cookies are delightful.

The pool area is currently being refurbished, but as we weren't here to sit out poolside, this didn't pose any problems.

All in all, a very nice stay, and I would come again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The rooms were very reasonably priced. i booked directly through the hotel for a CAA discount. The reservation process was great. We were checked in very quickly and the staff is very friendly and helpful. We felt very welcome, everyone was saying hello and welcoming us! The location is great in the French Quarter, close to lots of shops and dining. The rooms are modern but very charming and extremely comfortable beds. The included breakfast is awesome, this is not your run of the mill continental. There was sausage, a waffle maker, cereal, yogurt, drinks, fruit, muffins, and more! Next time I am in NOLA I will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Yes, there are quite a few great spots to stay in the FQ, but likely none have Miss Aisha and her staff. When's the last time a front desk manager addressed you by name the day after you checked in? Other staff on the property are equally friendly and helpful; Mr. Curtis and his 'universal' key got us out of a bit of a dilemma. The bed was very comfortable and although the room was a bit on the small side, (bathroom too), they were very clean. Our room overlooked the parking, but had an outside sitting area - trade-offs. A towel rack in the bathroom and an updated safe would probably be useful, but we managed fine for our two night stay. The location is great as the FQ is easily walkable. Breakfast is done well - nothing fancy, but a considerable step up from many of the 'economy' chains. And, the bar is a quiet relief from the nearby Bourbon St. madness - ssshhh - don't tell anyone! Our room had a mini frig.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aisha A, Front Office Manager at Dauphine Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Turkeybabe10:

I am so delighted that you stayed here at the Dauphine Orleans with us. I will pass on those kind words you spoke of Mr. Curtis. He truly is a life saver. Thank you for the compliment as well. I try to learn all my guest names-you are part of my family! We look forward to greeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

stayed in mid october 2012 great local you can walk everywehre never needed the car, the room was clean and comfortable the breakfast was very good. The beds are comfortable with temperpedic mattresses I find that I sometimes wake up feeling stuck I would not want one at home but it is fine for a few days. staff was plesent and helpful

Room Tip: we stayed on the top floor in the back and had no street noise it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We loved the quality of our two double beds, but the entire hotel was a bit tired looking. The room was adequate sized for the three of us (all adults), but lack of thoughtful shelving in the small bathroom and no mini fridge .adequate the room less than superb.
The lobby was small, and the pool area had some construction happening, but the staff were always super helpful and friendly.
The building is an old French Quarter original, so it being small and aged were expected, and the location was perfect for accessing Bourbon St. , yet not too noisy at night.
Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#28 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dauphine Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.