We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Essence Music Festival” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dauphine Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off & Free Breakfast
Ranked #33 of 156 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Hillcrest Heights, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Essence Music Festival”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Me and my group (of 15) stayed here just last week for the Essence Music Festival. Besides a minor credit card glitch, that was rapidly taken care of, this hotel was really nice. The rooms were exceptionally clean the continental breakfast was good as well. More of the best features of these rooms was the BED! It is one block away from Bourbon Street, excellent location.

Room Tip: Balcony Room a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,749 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    687
    158
    62
    29
See reviews for
260
755
39
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (491)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

On one of mine and my daughter's mother/daughter vacations, I dragged her to New Orleans lol and she loved it. The hotel itself was clean, convenient and right in the French Quarter while still being on the outside of it. It manages to be on the edge which leaves you in a great spot and without all the hustle and bustle of the 24 hour noise! Its a very pretty and somewhat elegant looking hotel, I will say the staff could've been a little more friendly but that wasn't a big deal especially considering they let us check in early-and the continental breakfast was pretty good too...would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

If searching for places to stay in NOLA, don't just think of Bourbon Street. If you enjoy being a bit off Bourbon & still want to capture true LA charm, consider the Dauphine. This property has pleasant rooms, reasonably priced, & a salt-water pool nestled within a courtyard of historic New Orleans. The history of the property includes May Bailey's, which is a bar of the former red-light district. Today, the hotel is appropriate for all ages. Wonderful continental (++) breakfast. Solid valet staff. They know NO; ask them for ideas & directions.

Room Tip: If possible, consider a king bed. Very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Arrived Saturday morning for Essence MusicFestival. Check in is at 3 pm but our room was not ready til 4 pm. Stayed in room 238 across the street. Room was clean included fridge, shower with jacuzzi tub,king size tempurpedic bed, LCD tv. Breakfast was good, one block from Bourbon street, great location and great way to get authentic New Orleans experience. I would stay here again because it is refreshing to get away from the big hotel hustle.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque City, Metro Manila
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Staying at Dauphine Orleans Hotel was such a pleasant experience.. The staff (esp Ayeesha) was so accommodating.. She even upgraded our room to a courtyard suite.. I suggest you get a courtyard room so that you'll have access to a small garden where it's so nice to have coffee and read a book.. I loved the room we had with it's brick walls, and wooden beams. It's so old-timey.. It's only a block away from Bourbon Street, so you're close to the action, but not too close to be bothered by the noise.. The free drink at May Maison was a great way to end our first night in N'awlins.. Plus free breakfast and free wifi.. Will definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The location is great, the reseptionists and valet guys are really friendly and we loved the little pool area. Nice place to relax after a long day walking around the city. The breakfast was very good, and the staff was constantly filling up with things when we were there.
First impression of the room (and the rest of the hotel) was very good, it all looked really nice. The room was spacious and very clean, and the aircondition was quiet and worked really well. Only thing I missed was a fridge.

But, we had several problems during our 3 nights stay.
The tub had a leak and kept dripping all night (which was really annoying), and the drain was almost completly clogged (you would stand with water over your ancles after a 3 minute shower, and it would take forever do drain. Don´t know how long, but at least an hour. Disgusting! We told the reseptioninst the first morning, and she said that she would send someone. I don´t know if she did or not, but the problem was not solved.
Also, the mattress was just horrible. It was a nice Tempur mattress, but it really should be replaced, I´ve never seen a mattress that sunk in the middle (you could se it even when the bed was made, and clarely when you took the covers off, so the maids should have picked up on it). It was really uncomfortable.
The last complaint we have is that one of the days our room was not done when we got back to the hotel at 5:30PM. That is just not ok.

I think we were just unlucky with our room and would probably give it another try if we´re ever coming back to New Orleans.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Our first trip to New Orleans was great. We stayed at the Dauphine Orleans Hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our check-in/check out was very smooth. The hotel grounds was very well maintained. the outdoor patio/pool area was very relaxing. Our room was clean and was to your standards. The house keeping did a wonderful job keeping our room/bathroom stocked with essentials. The hotel was conveniently located to all the French Quarter has to offer. We were in walking distance from every thing. It was nice to tour the Quarter and party on Bourbon St. but retreat back to the hotel for peace and quiet. We will definitely stay there again when we visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#6 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,610 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,142 reviews
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#8 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#5 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,789 reviews
French Quarter
French Market Inn
French Market Inn
#15 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Provincial
Hotel Provincial
#21 of 156 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#32 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#36 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, BookIt.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dauphine Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.