We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, great location, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Dauphine Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Off & Free Breakfast
Ranked #32 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, great location, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

My sister and I stayed three nights at this property. Our room was spacious and very clean, not something you often find the French Quarter. Bathroom was a bit small and lacked counter space, but it made up for that with a great shower. You could hear your neighbors through the walls - we're guessing due to the age of the building - but we're from a metropolitan area, so we didn't mind a little nosie. The staff were always friendly and helpful, especially Cynthia at the front desk. We spent some time at May Bailey's, the bar next to the hotel. Small, quiet, and laid-back, though you will smell like smoke afterward. (But that's true for most bars in the French Quarter) Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would both stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    622
    144
    56
    25
See reviews for
224
673
32
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, WA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed 3 nights at this non-smoking hotel - the rooms were delightful without a hint of smoke smell. People could smoke in the pool area and the bar, however, these weren't issues for us.

We were checked in smoothly by very friendly staff, breakfast was substantial with many choices in a pleasant breakfast room - real cutlery and crockery.

The location was great because the French Quarter can be quite hectic and noisy late into the night / am hours, so Dauphine is an oasis away from all of that. We had free wifi in our room but also there was a computer in the lobby if you are not carrying your laptop; including a printer which was very useful for us.

Room Tip: try to get a room towards the back, not facing the street or facing over the undercover carpark, (so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

For the price, this is a very good hotel. As other reviewers have mentioned, it's in a great location (although I'd prefer to stay on the south side of Bourbon street). The rooms are clean and comfortable. The front-desk staff are polite and helpful. And I appreciated the complimentary drink at the bar next door. On the down-side, the bed linens need upgrading and the rooms are fairly small.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

I'm rating this a five because of it's location, free breakfast, and the fridge in the room! Yeah! It's a perfect block behind the center of Bourbon Street and the rates on the rooms are really good compared to other places in the area. It's a really cool place to stay and the rooms have refridgerators in them so you can buy beer or keep your leftovers if you stay here. It was a really nice feature to have for a room in the French Quarter. Everyone was really nice and helpful. It's an easy, safe, and quick walk to the SuperDome. Just follow Dauphine to Pyorouns Street and you'll be right there. My tips for staying here are this: Be aware of the loud street noise if you book a room in the main house with a balcony. It is not noisy. It's super noisy so be aware of that in case you are a light sleeper. The balcony won't outweight the noise. They don't have cots so make sure that you don't try to overload your room with guests and hope for a roll-a-way cot. They don't have them. Aside from that, this is the perfect place to stay and you'll be happy with it. You can find cleaner, newer, and more expensive places but like I say in all of my hotel reviews, it's location, location, location.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

The good: As stated by others the location is very good - in the quarter and walking distance to all the interesting sights. We stayed in the Hermann house recommended for being quieter which they were. A nice private courtyard to sit in if you are so inclined. Other complaints here about the quality of the free breakfast but it seemed average to above average for these type of breakfasts.

The mediocre: While the Hermann house room was interesting architecturally - old restored building - it had a well used feel to it and was somewhat outdated stylistically - especially the bathroom - cracks in the jetted tub and a beat up toilet. Why do people ever want a jetted tub in a hotel unless you know they have some super-sanitization process for it?

Room Tip: If you stay in the Hermann House - there is one room with a balcony that looks out on the street - p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

This was a wonderful Hotel located in the French quarter. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The room was very small and rather dark but it was clean and the bed was super comfortable. The free breakfast was filling with a good selection of items. May Baileys was once a bordello and is now the bar. Each room has a copy of the license dated 1857. I forgot to keep my copy but it says something about lewd and abandoned women. The hotel is supposed to be haunted, although I'm not sure how one would be able to tell considering the strange things one might see any night, anywhere in the French quarter. Nice stay, I would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaylord, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Great location close to bourbon st, very reasonably priced, clean, charming breakfast area

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#29 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#31 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, BookIt.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dauphine Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.