We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Great Stay at the Dauphine Orleans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dauphine Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off our best rates!
Ranked #26 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always a Great Stay at the Dauphine Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Our stay at the Dauphine Orleans was for six nights the end of August 2011. My husband and I have stayed here many times over the years and always keep coming back. We love the character and the location and we have always had great service. We have found that we prefer the Hermann House, across the street from the main hotel. It is quiet and secluded with large rooms. This time we traveled with my best friend and her husband. They were celebrating their honeymoon and had booked a standard room, and we upgraded them to a Hermann House suite as part of their wedding gift. I called a couple of weeks before arrival and the hotel was so helpful in the upgrade and making sure that is was applied to my bill as opposed to theirs. And they even remembered to send a complimentary bottle of champagne to their room the night we arrived, and I hadn't even requested one. Rooms were cool, quiet and the beds so comfortable. The continental breakfast each morning is a nice touch, as it's free, and so are the two complimentary drink tickets they give you upon arrival. Staying at the Dauphine Orleans is part of what we look forward to when visiting New Orleans.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    624
    535
    120
    50
    23
See reviews for
194
574
27
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here from September 7 thru the 11th. The front desk service was awesome. They upgraded us from a standard room to a deluxe. Had a balcony too! Cannot talk enough about how amazing the beds are. Had the best nights sleep for the entire stay. Big money saver is the continental breakfast. Make your own waffles,sausages,croissants,rolls, danish,oatmeal,cereal,fruit and yogurt. Coffee,tea,juices are available also. The hotel is a block off Bourbon street and you can't hear a thing. If you come to New Orleans, please stay here. Well worth it, you wont be sorry. Also around the corner from Oceans. Delish Oysters Rockefeller and not too shabby on their Hurricanes!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

This hotel would be ideal for those just interested in going out on the town and using the hotel for nothing but sleeping. We had the main house king room. When we arrived the front desk was quick in checking us in and told us exactly where to go. We got to our room and it was a bit small but still had walking room. It was a king size bed that was SSSOOOOO comfortable, a table and chair with mirror and a mini fridge. We also liked the free wifi because we brought our lab top. The bathroom was spacious but not a lot of counter space. I didn't like the small tub/shower but it was good enough to take a shower every morning. The tv had HBO and was nice when you need a little down time. I do have to say that the valet and people working at this hotel was very nice. I lost my key and was no trouble with getting me a new one. It is convienient because it was one street a way from bourbon and was not noise at all. The only noise I had was the first night but that as because some lady liked to talk right outside our door and slammed her door for an hour (in and out, in and out). The hotel is close to a convienient store and there are places to eat all around. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Hard to believe you could walk a block and be on Bourbon Street where things are totally rocking, yet at the Dauphine it was quiet and comfy. The beds were the best we have slept in by far, including the pillows. We walked everywhere. The front desk provided us with a map and good suggestions. The continental breakfast was decent - much better than what we have had at other hotels. The coupon they give you for a free drink in the bar is a nice touch, but if you don't like smoking I would not recommmend the bar. We would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We liked having a balcony so we could get some fresh and be outside a bit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We couldn't believe how quiet this lovely hotel was, being only a block from Bourbon Street in the French Quarter! We stayed in the Hermann House, a converted residence across from the main building. Our room opened out onto a beautiful courtyard and we believe that it was worth the extra to stay in the location. Valet parking is inside and is attended by very courteous people. Our room was very clean, with a wonderful bed. And the convenience to the French Quarter couldn't be better, with everything in walking distance. We would say that, for the money, our room was excellent!

Room Tip: Book plenty of time ahead to get the very best rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

The Dauphine Orleans is located in a safe and convenient location in the Quarter and is fairly priced. Rates change regularly so tag it well before your trip and buy in at the right price. Our room was quiet at all times. It was clean. The beds super comfortable. Everything worked and was clean.

Garage people were very helpful and courteous. Desk people were just desk people, some were polite and helpful, the women, while others were watching the clock and couldn't wait to leave.

The pool is wonderful and while we were there under used.

The attached May Baileys is a must go to. The hotel provides you with a complimentary drink. Jeffery, is a wealth of good information as is Lisa, the barkeeps.
The bar is quiet and frequented by locals and restaurant service people after work. You might just meet the person who helped you pick out that great wine at Bayona. A great place to start your evening or have the nightcap before you saunter off to your room.

Early in the morning they have an included with the cost of your room, Bagels, Waffels, Croissants, Sausage, Coffee, and the fixin's to go with them. A nice add on.

You do not need a car here. Walk, take the trolley, or a taxi, to where you are going. This is a great location.

Next time we visit New Orleans we will probably stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor and another on the second floor without balconies. Our rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

I booked this room on bookit.com and for $100 for the three of us, it was fine. clean, large enough rooms and a great location in the quarter. This was the fourth hotel that I've stayed in the quarter and for the price it is a value. I liked the Iberville suites and the bienville better but you pay more. Easy walk to everything!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#25 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dauphine Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.