We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and cosy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dauphine Orleans Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Dauphine Orleans Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112 (French Quarter)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% off our best rates!
Ranked #23 of 152 hotels in New Orleans
Cairns, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cute and cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Very good Hotel walking distance to everything. Staff very helpful. Breakfast good. Little bar attached to Hotel very quaint and cosy. Beds super comfortable. Room size very large. Lighting could have been better.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    514
    450
    102
    49
    22
See reviews for
159
484
18
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011 via mobile

I stayed on the 4th floor,everything was going great a housekepper was on duty she was doing a pretty good,but her supervisor insisted her to work harder her supervisor yelled & yelled for no apparent reason as I stood there & watched walking up the hall the young housekeeper was pregnant the supervisor made her clean me & my husband's room over after we told her we didn't want service,I know this is none of my business but I think its real wrong for someone to be on someones back like that the young gril wasn't even able to get her work done without the supervisor in her ear it was an elderly lady who was the supervisor,but overall my stay was great!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

I don't like to write reviews on online sites, but my experience with this supposedly great hotel was so awful, I had to share it with others to give a balanced view with the other opinions of this hotel.

I'll start with the positive things about this hotel:

- Price for the French Quarter is pretty good, especially the mid-week rates.

- Location is wonderful - it is centrally located in the French Quarter and most everything we wanted to do and see in the Quarter was within good walking distance.

- Canal and St. Louis line streetcar stops were very close by.

Here are the negative things:

- Noise, noise, and more noise. Now, I've stayed in other French Quarter hotels before, even on right on Bourbon, and this hotel was MUCH worse. We stayed for 5 nights, and didn't get through one night without being woken up by loud, drunken, raucous shouting and laughing. That, combined with guests AND staff dragging metal-framed outdoor furniture across the bricks surrounding the pool throughout the night, equaled terrible sleep conditions. Turns out that the hotel bar allows customers to hang out by the pool whether they are guests of the hotel or not, making the tiny pool courtyard an extremely popular, extremely noisy hangout until dawn.

- Customer service was lacking. On the last night of our stay, as we were trying to fall asleep amid the noise, we suddenly caught the scent of something burning. We briefly investigated our room and balcony, determined it was not cigarette smoke, and then called the front desk to report the smell. The lady on the line first insisted it was cigarette smoke wafting up from the courtyard. I told her that no, it definitely was NOT cigarette smoke, and she then said she would send the "engineer" to come check it out. We waited outside of our room (which has a full view of the pool courtyard) for said engineer to arrive. We waited 30 minutes and no one came. By that time were we so exasperated with our entire stay, we decided to go back to sleep (as best as we could with the noise) and leave early the next morning.

- Complimentary newspaper that the hotel's website claims is delivered to your door each morning was nowhere to be seen.

- Hotel also claims to be "fully non-smoking," but that must not include the courtyard areas, where guests and bar hoppers can smoke all they want, and where we had to consciously avoid stepping on cigarette butts as we made our way to and from our room each day.

- Plumbing in our room's bathroom could desperately use updating. It was hard to get hot water in the shower, not because there wasn't any available (easily got hot water out of the sink), but because the shower knob was loose/broken. Bathroom also smelled moldy and dank. We were afraid to use the tub Jacuzzi because it looked moldy and unhygienic. Mold in the grout and growing on the shower curtain - gross!

Overall, this hotel was one of the worst we've stayed in. I cannot recommend it and I wish I had chosen a different hotel for our stay. While its location was awesome, and the price was affordable, I'd have been willing to pay more to stay somewhere cleaner, quieter, and more relaxing on my vacation. Hotel’s website claims it is an “unforgettable hotel” – boy, that’s for sure!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

Loved everything about this hotel. After a long stressful drive, near the end of our road trip we were glad to reach the hotel. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and we immediatly relaxed, We were thrilled with swimming pool and our complementary glass of wine. The room was spotless and the breakfast had lots of choice. An oasis in the middle of all the action.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

Five friends and I stayed at the Dauphine Orleans Hotel while celebrating our milestone birthdays. We chose the Dauphine Orleans based on our desire to stay in the French Quarter and on Trip Advisor recommendations. We couldn't have been happier with our choice. The location of the hotel, within walking distance of everything we wanted to experience (and eat) in the French Quarter as well as access to public transportation, was ideal. The rooms were large, nicely furnished, and had very comfortable beds. The breakfast buffet included in our room rate had enough variety to satisfy all of us. A glass of wine in the onsite bar was a nice way to finish each of the delightful days we spent in New Orleans. The frosting on this french pastry of a hotel was the customer service. The desk clerk we primarily dealt with was the epitome of excellent customer service. And, all this at a reasonable rate!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DauphineOrleans, Director of Sales at Dauphine Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
What a great review! Thank you for sharing your experience, we look forward to future opportunities to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

My wife and I just got back from our 7th trip to New Orleans. We've always stayed in different hotels and areas to get the total feeling of this great city. This time, though, we wanted to stay right in the middle of the French Quarter again.
After checking out other TA reviews and pictures, decided on the Dauphine Orleans-that's it! No more searching for us-whenever we come back, we are staying here! From our first communication with sales to the hotel manager all employees were great. the bellmen courteous and helpful, front desk always ready with a smile and willing to help answer any and all needs. The hotel manager even took time to show us the cottages a block away-that's how proud he is of this hotel!
We opted to stay across the street at the Hermann House and were able to get our first three nights in the balcony room overlooking Dauphine Street. It is by far, the coolest room in which we have stayed. There is street noise in the early hours, but we expected it.
There are quieter rooms in the back of the courtyard. Other reviews complain about the noise from the garage-my suggestion-talk to the management,don't stew over it. If they can do something, they will.
Our last night, we moved across the street to the main hotel as this room was reserved already, but management went out of their way to make sure our accommodations were great. we got a third floor room with 2 balconies! Once again, the management 's goal was to make sure our stay was the best it could be.
The location as stated in many other reviews is one short block off of Bourbon St. We always felt safe walking around the area.(hey, you're in the middle of the French Quarter,just be aware of your surroundings).
Next time down, we may opt for the cottages which are unbelievable-a totally different experience but you won't go wrong anywhere at the Dauphine.
This is the first review I have written. That's how highly I feel about the Dauphine. Thanks for making our week in Nola so great.
We will see you again!

Room Tip: balcony rooms are noisy,carriage rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DauphineOrleans, Director of Sales at Dauphine Orleans Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your first review. We truly enjoyed your visit and look forward to many more in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

I stayed at the Dauphine Orleans for four days this past Easter weekend with my husband and another couple. We chose the Dauphine based on a combination of the low price and the high ratings, and we were very pleased with our choice. We booked the reservation on Expedia and pre-paid for the trip to guarantee a double bed room.

We arrived late at night due to our flight being delayed, and the person at the desk let us know that they no longer had any double bed rooms due to overbooking, so they upgraded us to one of their cottages. We only got to stay in Cottage 5 for one night, which was a complete tease because it was incredible! Stashed away in a lovely courtyard with a semi-private pool, high ceilings, a big private patio, TVs in every room, big jacuzzi bathtubs, and probably the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Getting into that bed after a long day of traveling was like heaven. There were two bedrooms so both couples got some unexpected privacy that night, which was great.

The next day we were moved to a regular double room located on the third floor overlooking the street (Room 318). Since Dauphine Street is one block north from Bourbon, it was relatively quiet, and we never had any issues with street noise waking us up. We had a great balcony with three chairs and a table that we unfortunately never had time to take advantage of. It would have been nice if the guys had been able to sit out there and smoke cigars, but the hotel understandably asked us not to, so we didn't. The room was very elegantly decorated, as nice as any other hotel room in its class. Everything was clean and pretty.

We loved the bar, May Bailey's, and the people at the front desk kept giving us tons of drink tickets so we spent a good amount of time there (their hurricanes are really good, as well as their St Germain). The pools and courtyards were always nice and clean (and well shaded, which was nice during the hot days). Every staff member was incredibly nice and helpful and we never had a bad experience with any employee. The hotel had FREE WIRELESS INTERNET, which was high quality and fast (and not often found at nicer hotels, oddly enough).

The free breakfast was an unexpected perk and it was really really good. There was a waffle-maker, lots of pastries (we loved all the fresh croissants), sausage (which looked gross but actually tasted amazing), hard-boiled eggs, oranges and apples, yogurt, a small collection of cereals (mostly healthy cereals, nothing kid-friendly like Fruit Loops or Frosted Flakes), and a variety of drink options. Everything was refilled quickly so it was always warm, and there were plenty of tables to sit at. We went every morning and loved it.

We have a few complaints, but they are minor ones. The beds were not very comfortable. Maybe we were just spoiled by the amazing beds in the cottage, but the ones in the hotel rooms were hard as a rock - almost literally. They used those memory foam mattresses, but not the soft cushy ones, the really firm ones that barely have any give to them. They also don't breathe very well, so we all got very hot at night, despite the AC being as low as it could possibly go. We all slept well regardless, but after reading reviews about how great the beds were, I was disappointed.

We also had an issue with our TV remote not working properly. We wanted to order a movie one night, and we were unable to do so because the remote in the room didn't have the appropriate buttons. We called the front desk and they brought us a different remote, but that one didn't work either, and the staff member messed with it for awhile but didn't know what else to do so we just watched regular TV. A minor annoyance, but it did take up an hour of our night trying to figure out.

The cold water in the faucet did not work very well. It came out as a trickle, with no ability to adjust the flow. A bit frustrating when brushing our teeth, but otherwise not a big deal. We did, however, love that there was always an abundance of hot water. All four of us would shower each day and there was still plenty of hot water to go around.

The area around the hotel is not the best. We saw a few shady characters hanging around that street when walking back late at night. Generally, as a tourist, you want to stay between Bourbon and the river, and the Dauphine is one block off Bourbon on the other side of the river. It's not that it's a high crime area, it's just much quieter and more secluded than other streets, so there's more of an opportunity for someone to do you harm without being seen. If you're traveling alone you might feel more comfortable staying in more of a highly populated area.

As I said, these are all very small complaints. In general, we really liked the hotel and we would definitely stay there again if the price was right. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dauphine Orleans Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dauphine Orleans Hotel

Also Known As:
Dauphine Orleans New
Hotel Dauphine Orleans
Address: 415 Dauphine Street, New Orleans, LA 70112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans > French Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in New Orleans
#21 Family Hotel in New Orleans
#27 Business Hotel in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dauphine Orleans Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dauphine Orleans Hotel is located in the heart of the historic French Quarter one block from the bustle of Bourbon Street. A multi-million dollar renovation in June 2008 has created a new era of elegance in this 18th-century landmark, featuring several private courtyards and balconies. The Dauphine Orleans offers modern amenities such as wireless internet, Tempur-Pedic bedding, fitness & exercise room, deluxe continental breakfast and a saltwater pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Otel, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Dauphine Orleans Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dauphine Orleans Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.