We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th of July weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cornstalk Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Cornstalk Hotel to your Saves list
Cornstalk Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   915 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Call For Best Rate
Ranked #5 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“4th of July weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed here for 4 days during 4th of july weekend with my friends. It was so close to bourbon street and within walking distance of canal street and decatur street. The staff was great and i enjoyed the cookies left after housekeeping cleaned the room. They provided free botttled water and more water upon request. We enjoyed the essence festival with the many events and of course bourbon street. I would recommend staying at this hotel because you won't be disappointed. The only thing that hotel can fix is the amount of hot water in the shower that would be my only complaint about my stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    107
    17
    10
    10
See reviews for
37
181
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Millbrae, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is the best hotel I've ever stayed at. I've always been one to stay at newer, modern hotels, but the Cornstalk was a major surprise. It has a ton of charm and feels like you're staying at a family mansion. The location is amazing-- just a short walk to Bourbon if you're into the party scene, right on Royal St. if you like the cute little shops, and nestled away from the street so you can get to sleep after an all night party. Each room is a little bit different, and I think it's worth it to spend a little more money to get one of the best in the house. For the first two nights we stayed in room #14, which was really nice, but very small. The last two nights we stayed in room #8, which I think is the nicest in the hotel. It has a massive king bed and you're right in front off of the main balcony. It's a huge room and well worth the extra money.

Now onto the best part of our stay-- the staff! Every single employee was pleasant and beyond helpful. They helped us book our tours and gave us some great pointers on where to eat. They even shared some of their ghost stories with us. By far the best hotel staff I've ever come into contact with!

In conclusion, next time I visit NOLA, I wouldn't even think of staying anywhere else. Thank you Cornstalk!

Room Tip: Room #8 is beautiful and Room #14 is a little haunted =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

It said charming and that's always a dangerous statement, but it was just that. Great location with a feel of old New Orleans. The hotel and people were great and yet you felt like you were stepping back in time. I would highly recommend this hotel and we look forward to staying there again when we go back.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This is like staying in your own mansion right in the middle of the French Quarter. The Corn Stalk Hotel is located closer to Esplanade than to Canal so this area is a lot quieter and closer to more of the boutique shopping. The best way to get to Bourbon street is 3 blocks down Royal to St Peter. We loved going in the St. Peter entrance to Pat O'Brians and exiting the Bourbon Street doors! We all had a blast all night and shopped all day!
Hotel staff is wonderful!

Room Tip: The room closest to the front door could hear people coming and going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great location. This was our second time staying at the Cornstalk. Not many extras, but the staff makes up for that with great hospitality. Very helpful with directions and suggestions. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Having lived and moved away from New Orleans, I can easily say staying at the Cornstalk was the perfect choice for a weekend getaway with the wife. Walking distance to everything in the quarter (from Bourbon to Frenchman St's), you experience all of New Orleans from this beautiful French style hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This hotel is amazing. If you are all about the french quarter, this hotel is for you. It is within walking distance to everything. And if you need a break, you can walk back to the hotel and enjoy your drink on the awesome patio. Will definitely be coming back in the future!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Orleans hotels
French Quarter
Omni Royal Orleans
Omni Royal Orleans
#8 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,810 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Mazarin
Hotel Mazarin
#2 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,057 reviews
French Quarter
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
Bourbon Orleans Hotel
#6 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 2,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Grenoble House
Grenoble House
#1 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Monteleone
Hotel Monteleone
#9 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 4,199 reviews
French Quarter
Hotel Le Marais
Hotel Le Marais
#4 of 155 in New Orleans
4.5 of 5 stars 1,749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornstalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornstalk Hotel

Address: 915 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornstalk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cornstalk Hotel has been newly renovated and refurbished featuring fourteen exquisite guest rooms. Brilliant crystal chandeliers, antique mirrors and furnishings adorn the entrance hall, beautifully set off by high vaulted ceilings. The rosette scrolls, cherubs, medallions, stained-glass windows, fireplaces and canopy beds are all relics of a Louisiana plantation home. We are in the heart of the Vieux Carre' (French Quarter), with the sights, the sounds, the gourmet food and night life of old New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Cornstalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornstalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.