We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun time in New Orleans” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cornstalk Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cornstalk Hotel to your Saves list
Cornstalk Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   915 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charleston, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun time in New Orleans”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is in a great location with a cool ambiance. Lots of history and the staff is extremely nice. It was a great time if you enjoy something a little different. Comfortable beds and nice room. I really enjoyed the beauty of this hotel, it is not your regular hotel room like the Double Tree or Hilton but it was a really unique hotel. More like a bed and breakfast. They did not have coffee or snacks but we still really enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannah915, Manager at Cornstalk Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Hello mybebe,

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write this review! I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed the beauty, ambiance, and uniqueness of The Cornstalk. We certainly are a little different from chain hotels but for the guest that wants an authentic New Orleans hotel we’re a perfect fit! Thanks once again and we hope to see you back here again soon!

All the best,
Janna Holderer
Director of Guest Services
The Cornstalk Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    98
    16
    10
    11
See reviews for
29
155
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I loved it. I'm a frequent visitor to the French Quarter and have been waiting to stay at the Cornstalk for some time. Girls Trip 2014 was the perfect time. Just sitting on the balcony with a coffee and a book was a wonderful way to start my morning. Thank you for the memories!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannah915, Manager at Cornstalk Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hello JennaNOLA,

I’m very glad that we were able to have you stay with us and I’m so happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent girls weekend at the Cornstalk Hotel. We hope that we’ll be instrumental in making many new memories for you for years to come!

Thanks once again and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Janna Holderer
Director of Guest Services
The Cornstalk Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed at the hotel recently and were thrilled with the friendly reception, helpfulness and stunning rooms. The staff were fantastic at providing great suggestions about places to eat and visit and were eager to please. We have travelled extensively and this was one of the most delightful stays. It was intimate and all of us, including our two little girls, were made to feel welcome and special. The hotel itself is a stunning building and retains a character and charm that is rare.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannah915, Manager at Cornstalk Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hello CraigD,

It was such a pleasure having your family stay at our hotel. Y’all we’re such great guests and your little girls especially we’re so sweet! Thank you so much for staying with us and thank you for taking the time to write this review. We really appreciate the positive feedback especially coming from such seasoned travelers as yourselves. I hope you had a safe trip back to Australia but don’t stay away too long. We hope to have you back here again soon!

All the best,
Janna Holderer
Director of Guest Services
The Cornstalk Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The service and staff were top notch. Our room was The French Quarter Deluxe Room, very quant, room 10 on 2nd floor. No ghost, lol! We had a wonderful stay and will definitely be coming back to Cornstalk!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannah915, Manager at Cornstalk Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hi Brianmack14,

I’m so glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and our staff. Our staff’s customer service is one of our many points of pride so I’m glad to hear that we left such a good impression on you! We look forward to seeing you back here again soon. Hopefully you’ll get to spot some ghosts next time!

All the best,
Janna Holderer
Director of Guest Services
The Cornstalk Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This hotel is situated in a quiet part of the French Quarter, however, close to a lot of great places- steps away from amazing restaurants and cafés, a short walk to Frenchman Street, the St. Louis cathedral, and bars on Decatur

The bath tub was rather small and didn't drain well. But other than that we had a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannah915, Manager at Cornstalk Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hello The_Intention,

I’m glad to hear that you had a great stay and I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review. Thanks so much for choosing The Cornstalk Hotel for your trip to New Orleans. We hope to see you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Janna Holderer
Director of Guest Services
The Cornstalk Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, AL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

My sister and I had a girls week-end and stayed at the Cornstalk. The location is perfect; right on beautiful Royal Street. The hotel is rich with history. It has been redecorated with exquisite taste.
Although there is no room service with regards to food. Right out the front door is an excellent cafe prices very reasonably. Will stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannah915, Manager at Cornstalk Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hi martygilligan,

I’m so glad to hear that you and your sister enjoyed your stay with us. Y’all were such great guests and I hope that you enjoyed staying here as much as we enjoyed hosting you! It’s always so great having guests that appreciate the rich history and authentic decorations of the hotel. We hope to see you back here again soon!

Take care,
Janna Holderer
Director of Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Greatly enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the location could not be beat. It was fun sitting on the balcony listening to the carriage tour guides tell their folks the history of the hotel while we looked down upon them regally. Would definitely stay again, even without the 20% discount offered to repeat guests.

Room Tip: Choose room with easy access to second floor balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jannah915, Manager at Cornstalk Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hello gspanos,

Thank you so much for choosing The Cornstalk Hotel and for taking the time to write a review. It’s always so great to hear such positive feedback and I’m sincerely happy you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you here and we can’t wait to see you back at The Cornstalk again!

Come back soon!

Best wishes,
Janna Holderer
Director of Guest Services
The Cornstalk Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cornstalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornstalk Hotel

Address: 915 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 155 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornstalk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cornstalk Hotel has been newly renovated and refurbished featuring fourteen exquisite guest rooms. Brilliant crystal chandeliers, antique mirrors and furnishings adorn the entrance hall, beautifully set off by high vaulted ceilings. The rosette scrolls, cherubs, medallions, stained-glass windows, fireplaces and canopy beds are all relics of a Louisiana plantation home. We are in the heart of the Vieux Carre' (French Quarter), with the sights, the sounds, the gourmet food and night life of old New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cornstalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornstalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.