We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful little budget hotel in the heart of the quarter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cornstalk Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cornstalk Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cornstalk Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   915 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A wonderful little budget hotel in the heart of the quarter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We've walked past this hotel dozens of times and wondered what it was like inside. We stayed on the second floor mid-week and could not have had a nicer time. Room 14 was small but we had everything we expected from a budget hotel. This was a good value for the money and the charm of an old home lives in throughout the hotel. Comfortable beds, friendly staff and an excellent location made our stay great. We look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: The small rooms are quite small - but they're filled with the same charm & old world details...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    67
    14
    9
    10
See reviews for
17
107
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and we will definitely stay here again. Why? Because it is in keeping with all of the reasons we LOVE and come to New Orleans. It's quirky, charming and quaint! The location, on Royal Street, can't be beat! Within walking distance to numerous eateries and bars (*see the list below). Louis, the hotel manager is a delightful, thoughtful and gracious host. Upon our arrival he and his staff made us feel at home, and homey it was. This is a beautiful old home and like all old homes (built in the 1800's) it has its pluses and minuses. We come to NOLA to eat, listen to live music, and live like locals so the fact that it's not a modern hotel does not matter to us. We think the Cornstalk and the staff added to the ambience of being in NOLA. Be warned, you'll also feel like a celebrity every time you go out the front door for there is always someone taking a photo of the hotel and the iron gate! Great photo bomb opportunities if you are the sort! (*eateries and bars within walking distance: Cafe Amelie, Cafe Beignet, Antoine's Annex, Vert Marte, Clover Grill, Irene's, the R bar, DBA, Stella, Mr. B's Bistro...just to name a few.)

Room Tip: Manage your expectations. This home is almost 200 years old, not a modern boutique hotel. Appreciat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I love this hotel. It has a great location and the most wonderful staff ever. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. I walked everywhere I wanted to go and just overall had a great time in a great city. My least favorite thing was wagging my big bag upstairs as I have a tendency to over pack. I never want to leave New Orleans anyway but The Cornstalk just really makes you want to stay forever.

I went in the heat of the summer never a good time on the gulf coast but room 6 was always cool. I loved this place so much it is my Thanksgiving destination hotel also.

The hotel was full but I never heard anybody and hope nobody heard me.

Room Tip: I liked Room 6. It had stained glass windows a thermostat in the room and was right off the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel for our honeymoon. We were in a European Deluxe Room, which is described as being "intimately sized." The room and the bathroom were small--which we expected from the description--but certainly big enough for us and our stuff. The room was very clean and had nice furniture and high ceilings. We paid to park at the hotel, which was expensive per night (we did know the cost upfront) but it was also convenient. There is no need to move your car while staying at this hotel, because it is in a very central location. We were able to walk everywhere in the French Quarter and the Treme, as well as walk to the trolly stop to get out to the garden district. We went out on a swamp and plantation tour, but we booked the Cajun Pride tour company and they picked us up from the hotel and dropped us off there. We enjoyed not having to drive our car. Also, because the location is so central in the Quarter, we could go out shopping and drop our stuff off so we didn't have to carry it around all day.

The general manager (Janna) was very helpful and helped us book a ghost tour. We did not have any problems with the management or housekeeping.

If I had one small complaint, it would be that I wish there had been more storage in the bathroom. Yes, we expected a small bathroom, but there was no where to put out our stuff. There was only one small shelf and otherwise we had to put our toiletries on the floor or leave them in the bedroom. They could certainly put more shelves up in the bathroom, and more storage in the shower would also be helpful.

Room Tip: Read the room descriptions carefully--this is an old building and was not designed to be a hotel. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picayune, Mississippi
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I booked a room a week or so in advance for a nice little vacation. Unfortunately, there was an emergency that made us unable to go and dig extremely deep into our pocket's. My husband called and politely asked if we could cancel the reservations and not be penalized for it. He explained the situation and told them we simply could not make it. They stated if they were able to rent out the rooms, there wouldn't be any charge. If they were not able to rent out the rooms, they would contact us first before charging our card - not to worry. It was also stated that they would send us a gift card if we were charged. Well, the weekend came and went without any activity on the card or anyone contacting us. While returning home, out of state, the charge came through without any notice. This pretty much had us stranded about 150 miles away from home. We still have not heard from anyone at the Cornstalk and are very disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisd5, General Manager at Cornstalk Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
We sincerely apologize that the guest experienced any displeasure or dissatisfaction in their dealings with the Cornstalk Hotel. Guest satisfaction is our number one priority and we try our best to be accommodating when guests are forced to cancel their reservations. However, in these situations we are obliged to follow our cancellation policy.

When guests make a reservation at the Cornstalk Hotel, they are made well aware of our cancellation policy, as they are informed of it in writing on three separate occasions. If guests disagree with our cancellation policy or our other Terms and Conditions, they are given a 24 hour period after making their reservation to cancel without penalty. If a guest does not choose to dispute our Terms and Conditions, we are obligated to adhere to our policies in the event of a cancellation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphysboro, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the Cornstalk Hotel. It was a perfect setting and location to experience our 1st trip to New Orleans. We thoroughly enjoyed the historical ambiance of the hotel, nightly enjoyed the courtyard and the balcony. Janna, the acting mgr. was extremely helpful, making our 1st trip warm and welcoming.

Room Tip: The castle stained glass tower room was so comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Va
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Cornstalk is a gorgeous Victorian home in the heart of the French Quarter. Location is perfect to every area. Louis is helpful, personable, caring and kind. Parking although quite expensive is available. We had a wonderful time and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: I choose the Balcony view premier room which is the largest and has beautiful stained glass windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cornstalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornstalk Hotel

Address: 915 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornstalk Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cornstalk Hotel has been newly renovated and refurbished featuring fourteen exquisite guest rooms. Brilliant crystal chandeliers, antique mirrors and furnishings adorn the entrance hall, beautifully set off by high vaulted ceilings. The rosette scrolls, cherubs, medallions, stained-glass windows, fireplaces and canopy beds are all relics of a Louisiana plantation home. We are in the heart of the Vieux Carre' (French Quarter), with the sights, the sounds, the gourmet food and night life of old New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Cornstalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornstalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.