We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very French Quarter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cornstalk Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Cornstalk Hotel to your Saves list
Cornstalk Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   915 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
california
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very French Quarter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Just returned from 4 days and 3 nights in New Orleans. This was our first time staying in NOLA and we wanted a true French Quarter experience. This is exactly what we got at the Cornstalk Hotel. It is a beautiful historic property which is decorated and maintained to it's period perfectly.
Having read previous tripadvisor reviews, of this property, I knew exactly what minor negatives to expect. Small bathroom, including a shower with a mind of it's own. And street noise. Small bathrooms in an old historical home and street noise in the French Quarter during the Mardis Gras parade season are completely acceptable to me. The location is amazing. Within walking distance of all the hot spots in the Quarter. Every morning we walked a few feet to a coffee house and took our coffee's and croissant's back to the large front porch at the Cornstlak and planned our day. The Krewe du vieux parade passed right by the hotel and that was quite a party. The staff were quite friendly and provided us with everything we needed. Louis and Jana did a good job of being there when you needed them and were not in the way when you didn't. I would recommend the Cornstalk Hotel to anyone looking for a true French Quarter experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    68
    14
    9
    10
See reviews for
18
108
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Clane, Ireland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Reviewers have mentioned the lack of parking- but that is no problem if you arrive on a motor-bike, as we did. We were hot and tired and had tried a few hotels that were full. This was like an oasis to us when Louis told us he had 2 rooms available. As soon as he said Elvis had stayed in Room1 in 1957 when he visited New Orleans, we had to take it! We took the risk of traffic noise, but it turned out to be no problem at all. Mind you the road works early on the second morning were pretty noisy! This is an atmospheric old house and that is what you get, at the expense of things like big, modern rooms and fancy bathroom. But it is worth the trade-off. Louis, the manager, is great and very helpful in regard to places to eat and visit. We had two really enjoyable nights there in a beautiful old house right in the centre of everything. A lovely experience- and Lois suggestion for breakfast at the Camellia cafe was a stroke of genious. We ate there both days and loved the experience , as we did that of the Cornstalk Fence Hotel.

Room Tip: Go for Elvis' room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniston, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

What an AMAZING weekend we had staying at the Cornstalk!!! When we first arrived, we were unable to drive up to the front of the hotel because the city was doing some type of road work. I called Louis (the house manager) to get his advice about where we should park since we couldn't get to the hotel. Louis actually walked about 2 blocks and helped me and my friend carry our luggage to the hotel while our husbands parked the car!!! I thought it was so nice of him to help us. We reserved room #3 which ended up being absolutely beautiful! The antique furniture was very impressive. The actual hotel is close to so many great places to eat and shop. I will for sure stay at the Cornstalk when I return to New Orleans!!! Thank you Louis for helping make our vacation a great one!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We wanted to go to both Bourbon St. and Frenchmen St., so this worked really well for us. We were in room #1, which is the front room of the house on the first floor, directly inside the front door. I was afraid the front door noise would be an issue, but even though the house was full, we barely heard anyone come or go.
The room was lovely, but I will warn anyone over 200 lbs or 6 ft, the bathroom in our room would be a challenge for you. My 5'11" husband just barely cleared the ceiling in the bathroom, but it didn't bother me at all. If you are afraid this would be an issue, I would certainly request a room with a different bathroom layout.
We spent time on the front porch, which sits far enough from the street to allow us to enjoy the experience without constant interruption. Wednesday and Thursday nights were very quiet, Friday was louder, but it died down by midnight, and we were able to sleep without too much problem.
The staff was friendly and they accommodated our 8 pm check in with no problems. They are not onsite overnight, so be sure to take care of any business before 6 pm or make alternate arrangements.
We were pleased with our stay and definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The most unique hotel in the French Quarter - it was such a delight when the taxi pulled up to late at night on our arrival. It glows on Royal Street, the only building set back a little, and lit up like it is from heaven. If you haven't had the pleasure of staying in a really beautiful and unusual place, you must try it out - the Cornstalk is situated so conveniently that we could wander out and back easily (eliminated the stress of planning). And our room was so beautiful that when we returned for a rest before our evening sojourns it didn't feel like a "waste of our vacation time"; being in the room was an experience in itself because it is decorated so beautifully. All day the walking and carriage tours would pause outside the gates which makes you feel so special to be staying here.

In addition to the beauty and character of the Cornstalk, it is just such a great location. Right in the heart of the French Quarter, but quiet at night, and a tranquil setting by day. Wonderful and personal service from the staff.

(The only negative thing would apply to you if you are a wholly modern person with no appreciation for antiques, or vintage buildings. The wardrobe needed a bit of attention - doors didn't close well, trim missing etc. I love and keep antiques so am comfortable with a little deterioration for the sake of real wood furniture with history, but some people I know wouldn't tolerate it. The linens were incredibly luxurious - the softest sheets and towels I have ever experienced, but the bathroom lacked shelving space for toiletries)

So I confirmed a lesson: Some people feel that it is better to stay at a cheap place further out of the prime tourist area because you don't spend much time in the hotel room anyway. This is the second time I have splurged a little to get a perfect location and a really unique hotel. If you haven't done this you have to try it....the vacation is just a million times better - honestly!

Room Tip: We paid a little more for a gorgeous suite with a front Royal Street view - it was worth it to watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have visited NO many times over the last 20 years and always wanted to stay at this quaint, rich in history turn of the century bordello. My wife and i booked it for a long weekend. The service was great, the rooms were done beautifully but for me 6'-1" i could barely fit in the shower that maybe had 15 lbs. of water pressure, it took 10 minutes to get hot water. The inn was booked so one morning when we all were taking showers i had zero pressure, i had to wait about an hour to get enough pressure to take a warm shower. Again quaint and beautiful but for a premium price i expect a decent shower.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN DIEGO
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Cornstalk was truly an experience of a lifetime on my first trip to New Orleans. We loved the homey feeling and the exceptional hospitality we recieved from Louis the hotel manager. He went above and beyond the call of duty by helping us find our wallet we had lost in the cab on our very first night, he saw how stressed out we were and brought us up a bottle of champagne! Your not gonna get that at the Marriott or the Hyatt. The hotel is perfectly located close enough to walk to Bourbon St but not to close where we could still enjoy peace and quiet when we wanted it. The housekeeper kept our room clean and helped with anything we needed. I cant wait to go back and visit, it was truly a wonderful vacation thanks to Louis.

Room Tip: the rooms vary in size, the smaller rooms are small but cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cornstalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornstalk Hotel

Address: 915 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 153 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornstalk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cornstalk Hotel has been newly renovated and refurbished featuring fourteen exquisite guest rooms. Brilliant crystal chandeliers, antique mirrors and furnishings adorn the entrance hall, beautifully set off by high vaulted ceilings. The rosette scrolls, cherubs, medallions, stained-glass windows, fireplaces and canopy beds are all relics of a Louisiana plantation home. We are in the heart of the Vieux Carre' (French Quarter), with the sights, the sounds, the gourmet food and night life of old New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Cornstalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornstalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.