We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cornstalk Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cornstalk Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cornstalk Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   915 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
“Great place with a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We wanted to go to both Bourbon St. and Frenchmen St., so this worked really well for us. We were in room #1, which is the front room of the house on the first floor, directly inside the front door. I was afraid the front door noise would be an issue, but even though the house was full, we barely heard anyone come or go.
The room was lovely, but I will warn anyone over 200 lbs or 6 ft, the bathroom in our room would be a challenge for you. My 5'11" husband just barely cleared the ceiling in the bathroom, but it didn't bother me at all. If you are afraid this would be an issue, I would certainly request a room with a different bathroom layout.
We spent time on the front porch, which sits far enough from the street to allow us to enjoy the experience without constant interruption. Wednesday and Thursday nights were very quiet, Friday was louder, but it died down by midnight, and we were able to sleep without too much problem.
The staff was friendly and they accommodated our 8 pm check in with no problems. They are not onsite overnight, so be sure to take care of any business before 6 pm or make alternate arrangements.
We were pleased with our stay and definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    66
    14
    9
    10
See reviews for
17
101
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Langley City, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The most unique hotel in the French Quarter - it was such a delight when the taxi pulled up to late at night on our arrival. It glows on Royal Street, the only building set back a little, and lit up like it is from heaven. If you haven't had the pleasure of staying in a really beautiful and unusual place, you must try it out - the Cornstalk is situated so conveniently that we could wander out and back easily (eliminated the stress of planning). And our room was so beautiful that when we returned for a rest before our evening sojourns it didn't feel like a "waste of our vacation time"; being in the room was an experience in itself because it is decorated so beautifully. All day the walking and carriage tours would pause outside the gates which makes you feel so special to be staying here.

In addition to the beauty and character of the Cornstalk, it is just such a great location. Right in the heart of the French Quarter, but quiet at night, and a tranquil setting by day. Wonderful and personal service from the staff.

(The only negative thing would apply to you if you are a wholly modern person with no appreciation for antiques, or vintage buildings. The wardrobe needed a bit of attention - doors didn't close well, trim missing etc. I love and keep antiques so am comfortable with a little deterioration for the sake of real wood furniture with history, but some people I know wouldn't tolerate it. The linens were incredibly luxurious - the softest sheets and towels I have ever experienced, but the bathroom lacked shelving space for toiletries)

So I confirmed a lesson: Some people feel that it is better to stay at a cheap place further out of the prime tourist area because you don't spend much time in the hotel room anyway. This is the second time I have splurged a little to get a perfect location and a really unique hotel. If you haven't done this you have to try it....the vacation is just a million times better - honestly!

Room Tip: We paid a little more for a gorgeous suite with a front Royal Street view - it was worth it to watch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have visited NO many times over the last 20 years and always wanted to stay at this quaint, rich in history turn of the century bordello. My wife and i booked it for a long weekend. The service was great, the rooms were done beautifully but for me 6'-1" i could barely fit in the shower that maybe had 15 lbs. of water pressure, it took 10 minutes to get hot water. The inn was booked so one morning when we all were taking showers i had zero pressure, i had to wait about an hour to get enough pressure to take a warm shower. Again quaint and beautiful but for a premium price i expect a decent shower.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN DIEGO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Cornstalk was truly an experience of a lifetime on my first trip to New Orleans. We loved the homey feeling and the exceptional hospitality we recieved from Louis the hotel manager. He went above and beyond the call of duty by helping us find our wallet we had lost in the cab on our very first night, he saw how stressed out we were and brought us up a bottle of champagne! Your not gonna get that at the Marriott or the Hyatt. The hotel is perfectly located close enough to walk to Bourbon St but not to close where we could still enjoy peace and quiet when we wanted it. The housekeeper kept our room clean and helped with anything we needed. I cant wait to go back and visit, it was truly a wonderful vacation thanks to Louis.

Room Tip: the rooms vary in size, the smaller rooms are small but cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

My first trip to NOLA--traveling with my husband and 3 month old son. I was a little worried because the French Quarter is not known for being kid-friendly. I was pleasantly surprised that our family was welcomed every place we went--especially the Cornstalk. The hotel manager went out of his way to be accommodating. I was also surprised by how large our room was (room 4)--the website and the manager warned us that the less expensive rooms were small. We had plenty of room for all our luggage and my son's pack n play. (The bathroom was very small and the plug in the tub didn't work so it was shower only). Our room faced the side ally, but as there was road construction on Royal street we were glad for the quiet. The bed was very comfortable and the sheets were very soft and cozy.
The one complaint about our stay was the $50 a day parking--but I understand that parking is at a premium in the Quarter and it would have been expensive anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My sisters and I just visited New Orleans and stayed at the beautiful Cornstalk Hotel. This was our first trip to New Orleans, and, since we would not have a car at our disposal, we wanted to stay at a convenient location – preferably in the French Quarter. After a little online searching, we found the fabulous Cornstalk Hotel, which met all of our requirements – convenient location in the French Quarter, adorableness (in terms of the building and the room itself), and amazing helpfulness from the staff (particularly our host, Louis, who was accommodating to the extreme, in terms of suggestions for things to do and checking on us each day to see that we had everything we needed). For our last evening, he even brought us a bottle of champagne to celebrate my younger sister’s birthday.

The Cornstalk Hotel is not only an historic landmark in the French Quarter; it is also conveniently located for seeing many of New Orleans’s famous venues. We ate at the Café Du Monde every morning (2 blocks), and we took the advice of Louis and visited nearby Frenchman Street, where we listened to fabulous New Orleans jazz music. Every evening we sat on the hotel’s gallery (available to all guests), and enjoyed watching the mule/buggy and ghost tours stop by the Cornstalk Hotel, listening in amusement as they regaled their clients with stories (and sometime myths) of the hotel’s history.

In short, I am unconditionally recommending The Cornstalk Hotel to anyone wishing to experience New Orleans in a way that someone who likes staying at the Marriott will never be able to appreciate. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our daughter was married in September, and we, along with many guests of the wedding, stayed at the Cornstalk Hotel. Our stay was absolutely wonderful. The hotel is located on one of the most beautiful streets in the French Quarter, and overall, it is simply charming! Louis, the manager, and Janet were so professional, but friendly, and were always there to help in any way. They could not have been kinder and more accommodating! Louis also has a wealth of information on hand - brochures on every kind of activity imagainable, restaurant information, tour information, etc. On the day of the wedding, I was naturally nervous, being the mother of the bride, and Janet would smile her terrific smile and ask if she could help wih anything! Louis was always available too. The hotel is absolutely beautiful.................a very special and lovely place to stay! Annie, from San Diego

Room Tip: Loved the Royal View Premier Room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cornstalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornstalk Hotel

Address: 915 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 153 hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornstalk Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cornstalk Hotel has been newly renovated and refurbished featuring fourteen exquisite guest rooms. Brilliant crystal chandeliers, antique mirrors and furnishings adorn the entrance hall, beautifully set off by high vaulted ceilings. The rosette scrolls, cherubs, medallions, stained-glass windows, fireplaces and canopy beds are all relics of a Louisiana plantation home. We are in the heart of the Vieux Carre' (French Quarter), with the sights, the sounds, the gourmet food and night life of old New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Cornstalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornstalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.