We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cornstalk Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cornstalk Hotel to your Saves list
Cornstalk Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   915 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Great location and ambiance. Will definitely stay again. Luois was very helpful and got us the best tours avaiable (try the air boat swamp tour, you will not be disappointed).
No shelf in the bathroom was the only shortcoming brought up by my girlfriend but she qusickly adjusted.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    86
    14
    9
    10
See reviews for
26
127
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

This beautiful hotel is centrally located in the French Quarter, very close to everything ie... Cafe Dumonte, Jackson Sq., the Farmers & Flea markets, the Natchez Steamboat and numerous restraunts. The rooms are beautifully decorated, clean, QUIET and all around gorgeous. This hotel has everything a great hotel should have and then some. However, what really sets it apart and far above the rest is it's concierge/manager, Louis. He is fabulous!!! He is friendly, kind and knowledgable. He actually has gone on all the trips and tours and eaten at most of the restraunts. He keeps typed binders of the tours and the restraunts, their times, their menus and their prices. He will talk over your choices with you and point out their advantages or disadvantages. He then arranges the tours and schedules them so they all mess together without overlap. (He even knows where to get the discount coupons). If you need a taxi, he will get you one. If you are too hot or cold he adjusts the temperature, and I mean immediately. We live in Orlando, and we are used to great service, since we regularly stay at Disney Hotels. You have my word for it, this gentleman even beats Disneys impeccable service. Our stay was wonderful, never a care, he arranged everything. When one tour did not live up to our expectations, he called and we were offered our money back or another tour. The next tour was great. Thank you Louis for a FANTASTIC, funfilled vacation. We will be back. Thanks, Donna & Katie

Room Tip: Ask for view of Royal Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

This is classical old French Quarter building - we loved this place - more 4 & 1/2 stars because of the door onto the deck was right next to our room - opening & closing) - maybe a bit harsh?
Be patient when checking in - there's only one guy (Louis) looking after this place and there are about a dozen rooms - but realise that once you get served, you get the full treatment - Louis showed us everything in the room, he really ensured we knew everything we needed to. We looked at the room before taking it and actually changed rooms, we were going to be on the ground floor right next to the front door - so we took the worst of two evils and when for the room next to the deck door upstairs (still a better option than next to the main door).
The rooms are quaint, but big enough. Old school bed, really charming & comfortable. There is so much history in New Orleans and this hotel is a regular stop on history & ghost tours. NB: we didn't see any ghosts but my wife, who is quite receptive to that sort of thing, was very much alert to other things being present. Me - no problem, slept like a baby.
Proximity to everything in the French Quarter is great - this is an awesome location, particularly if you like walking.
5 stars if you take a room that is not near the front door or deck entrance!!

Room Tip: Not the front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

This hotel was old, had character, and was in an awesome location. If you do not like old, stay someplace else like the Hilton. However, if you want 12 foot high ceilings, four poster beds, and smaller bathrooms...this is for you. Totally cool and super easy to get around in the French Quarter. It honestly felt a little haunted, but then EVERYTHING around there does. I DID notice that it ALWAYS had the odd smell like someone was getting high very near by...and we stayed here for FIVE nights. (That nasty skunk smell is the only thing we did not like.). We stayed in the largest room in the front for two nights which is the most expensive, but well worth it. It overlooks the carriages loudly giving tours and I actually caught lot of info since they do not all give the same tour. The last three nights we stayed in The Elvis room, which also faced the front of the house but was on the first floor. I will certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

We were in exactly the perfect place - close enough to everything we wanted to do, yet not right on top of the noise.

The Cornstalk has the "feel" of New Orleans - has excellent staff - "Louis" gave us a 5-10 minute discussion - and we felt like we knew exactly what we wanted to do.

There is a cute courtyard, a balcony for everyone, and the rooms were comfy (slept soundly).

This is a good choice for New Orleans!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Hills, Kentucky
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Cornstalk Fence hotel in March, 2011. The rooms are beautifully appointed with antique furniture. Be aware that this is not a bed and breakfast as the Trip Advisor title suggests; it is a guest house so there is no breakfast provided. The front room bathroom needs a solid curtain rather than just sheers to allow for nighttime privacy. The bathroom also needs a bath mat. The beds are squeaky as one might expect of antiques and this might bother some people. Wonderful ambience but a bit pricey. The hotel itself is very, very quiet but the room closest to the street gets the outside noise.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Absolutely a must see when in New Orleans. Beautiful hotel with large rooms. Great Value and you can't get much closer to Bourbon St. The staff is very knowledgeable and treats you like family.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cornstalk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornstalk Hotel

Address: 915 Royal St., New Orleans, LA 70116
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Orleans
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 154 Hotels in New Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cornstalk Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cornstalk Hotel has been newly renovated and refurbished featuring fourteen exquisite guest rooms. Brilliant crystal chandeliers, antique mirrors and furnishings adorn the entrance hall, beautifully set off by high vaulted ceilings. The rosette scrolls, cherubs, medallions, stained-glass windows, fireplaces and canopy beds are all relics of a Louisiana plantation home. We are in the heart of the Vieux Carre' (French Quarter), with the sights, the sounds, the gourmet food and night life of old New Orleans. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Cornstalk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornstalk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.