We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sucre

Sucre
3025 Magazine St, New Orleans, LA 70115-2232 (Garden District)
504-520-8311
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 1,630 Restaurants in New Orleans
Cuisines: Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Garden District
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

An upscale chocolate store with a high end selection. We purchased two boxes with the help of very friendly staff. We were able to custom select the chocolates from a good variety. There were other treats we did not try, but everything looked great. A perfect gift! Expensive (but you get what you pay for!)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    69
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“We fell in love and got our wedding cake here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Love this place, bought our wedding cake from here, and it was (IMHO) fantastic. The place has a bit of an attitude (not with the bakery staff, they are really really really cool), just with some of the office staff we ran into and with *some* of the people working in the shops. All in all, I still go every time I can and am eternally grateful for the wonderful wedding cake they made for us.

Note: The bakery staff is way cooler than the office staff was. The office staff almost had us order from somewhere else, but then we went and met with the bakers one last time and they totally won us back. Total kudos to the bake staff and owner, fantastic product, fantastic attitude.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Valley
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Words cannot describe the macarons!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Saw an ad in the plane magazine and so glad we decided to take the trolley several blocks up from the French Quarter to go. The service is excellent. We got the gelato, take home praline coffee, several pieces of chocolate, marshmallows, candied pecans - all very, very good.

But ... the macarons are absolutely fabulous! I am serious - words can't describe it. They are THAT GOOD! Melt in your mouth, bursting with the most amazing flavors. Thankfully, they ship, but why oh why can't Sucre expand in Philadelphia??

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Put your spoon into a bowl of dessert and close your eyes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

So pretty. The displays are lovely. They make you kind of hungry for dessert which is presented so prettily. And it is so very delicious. Oh, my. The coffee is really fine too, by the way. Not quite as burnt tasting as it is at Starbucks. One little thing, however, is that the coffee gets cool too quickly. It's all good because the ice cream is so cool and rich. Just be prepared to spend some cash for these rich, sweet, delicacies. The chocolates are seriously expensive, but beautiful. Definitely a trophy gift for the lucky recipient. If you want to have a delicious, sweet something to highlight your day, drift over there and relax into dessert.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“the best sweets in New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

the best bakery in the city - King Cake was probably the best I have ever had and I have been coming to the city for years

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sucre also viewed

 

Been to Sucre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sucre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.