We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Candymakers

Southern Candymakers
334 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)
800-344-9773
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 1,659 Restaurants in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery, Dessert
Neighborhood: French Quarter
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Well my wife and I are not candy people but my wife said we need to go in so we went in and the place was nice the workers was nice specially Bruce he treated my wife so nice and after we brought everything he wanted to hug and gave my wife a kiss and she had a good feeling after so when you come to New Orleans you have to go to Southern candy makers in French Market the candy to die for really

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    112
    25
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I go to Southern Candymakers every time I am in New Orleans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I always stop by Southern Candymakers when I am in New Orleans because I have to get at least a pound (sometimes two!) of original creamy pralines to take home to my mama. I think she might send me back if I didn't come back with pralines.

I stopped in with my best friend and when I started to get the pralines he started sampling other pralines and loved the sweet potato pralines. He ended up buying some original creamy and some sweet potato. They put a smile on his face.

Everyone there is friendly and happy to help. I wish every place was like that.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

They have a great selection of candies and you can see the employees as they are spooning the pralines onto waxed paper to cool. They are delicious and fresh, although terribly expensive, with the pralines costing $22.95 per pound. They offer alot of unique candies and it's fun just seeing them all, the shop itself isn't fancy. I probably wouldn't return due to the cost. We found another shop on our way out of town that cost $6 less per pound and was just as tasty. The area has alot of tourism which is what most of the shops here are geared towards.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Praline Sugar High!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I came, I conquered and left with a bag of sweet delectable pralines. The store is a candy lovers paradise. Wall to wall candy and the aromas are hypnotic. I tried several varieties and knew I was in candy paradise. I was surprised at the prices but it was worth every cent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“The best smell in the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Walk by and the aroma will lure you in. The pralines were smooth and creamy but gave me an instant sugar shock. Too sweet for me but for those who enjoy this kind of thing, I could see why you would love this place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Candymakers also viewed

New Orleans, LA
New Orleans, LA
 

Been to Southern Candymakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Candymakers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.