We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“parked across the street..why not” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Candymakers

Southern Candymakers
334 Decatur Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (French Quarter)
800-344-9773
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 1,603 restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout, Delivery, Dessert
Neighborhood: French Quarter
lansing mi
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“parked across the street..why not”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Leaving FQ I look over to see this little candy shop across the way. OK Pralines for the way home.Samples as soon as we entered... picked... bought... and ate. Priced 23.99 only bought a 1/4 but enjoyed..NICE!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    283
    87
    23
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sweet yummy goodness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I had never tried pralines, but kept seeing them in every tourist/gift store. Was told by a local and a tour guide to go to this place. They are made fresh everyday and the range is amazing! They are very more-ish and addictive. I bought home a large pack and needless to say, they did not last long at all. The staff are friendly and hand out samples while you stand in front of the LARGE display case trying to decide what naughty-ness to buy. I strongly suggest that you pay them a visit. They can vaccum pack the caramel sweeties for the trip home.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The best tortues (turtles) ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I had never had pralines, so I decided to give them a try. While they were too sweet for me, I've since found numerous other goodies to enjoy at Southern Candymakers. Of particular note are their tortues; the nuts taste fresh and are crunchy, the chocolate is rich, and the caramel just about melts in your mouth. I've brought home boxes for friends and family, and they all agree they are the best they've ever eaten. They also have some peanut butter and chocolate concoctions that are absolutely extreme! Love this place and visit it more than once on each trip.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Thank you Tripadvisor forum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I went to Southern Candymakers, thanks to the suggestions on the Tripadvisor forum.

The pralines were amazing (loved the coconut), and I wish I had gotten more of the salted tortues. and thanks to the lovely lady behind the counter, I had the best toffee ever. I just had the last piece and I want to order more.

Look forward to return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pecan pralines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Wow, amazing pralines!! You have to go here and try them! We bought some for ourselves and ate them while they were still warm. So good, wish we had some in Ohio. :(

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Candymakers also viewed

 

Been to Southern Candymakers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Candymakers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.