We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must See” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Louisiana State Museum (The 1850 House)

Louisiana State Museum (The 1850 House)
523 St Ann Street, Lower Pontalba Building, Jackson Square, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)
+1 504-568-6968
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Louisiana State Museum (The 1850 House) like an insider
Top Rated
$80*
and up
New Orleans Power Pass™
Ranked #69 of 467 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Few places offer the chance to experience the lifestyle of our ancestors of more than 150 years ago. The 1850 House is one of these rare places, offering a glimpse of middle- and upper-class life in antebellum New Orleans, the most prosperous period in the city's history. This furnished rowhouse in the Lower Pontalba Building, represents a mid-19th century home. Visitors encounter the stories of the Baroness Pontalba, the woman who constructed the building and the people who lived here in the 1850s.
Worldwide
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

There is so much to this State that is not told outside of its confines. This museum gives a more complete picture. It has many, many positive attributes that get overlooked. It is worth the time. It dispels many of the bias of northern myths.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    49
    18
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Proctor, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Inexpensive walk through history a must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Take the $2-$3 house tour available. We had to ask as they don't seem to push it. We had a guide the day we were there, but this is not always available. So interesting & one of the least expensive things in the French Quarter. Three flights of stairs were not fun but well worth the climb.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful walking tour of New Orleans history!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The guides for this 2 hour walking tour are all volunteers who go through a lot of training, so they are historically accurate. A friend recommended this tour to us, which is run by the Friends of the Cabildo. At the end of the tour a visitor can take a self-guided tour of the 1850 House Museum. All of it was well worth it!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Katrina exhibition is a must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We went to the exhibition on the recommendation of a friend. It was the most moving exhibition I've been to for a very long time. It reduced me to tears several times and really made me realise how resilient the people of New Orleans are. They should keep the exhibit there for ever - what happened should not be forgotten.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
“Wonderful history lesson!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the 1850 House Museum in February! Our congenial guide provided a brief history of the building and facts about the families that occupied it and then let us explore on our own. Great artifacts of a bygone era are displayed. Admission was $3...a steal in New Orleans!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louisiana State Museum (The 1850 House) also viewed

 

Been to Louisiana State Museum (The 1850 House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louisiana State Museum (The 1850 House), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.