We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Katrina exhibition is a must see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Louisiana State Museum (The 1850 House)

Louisiana State Museum (The 1850 House)
523 St Ann Street, Lower Pontalba Building, Jackson Square, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)
504 568 6968
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 171 attractions in New Orleans
Type: History Museums, Museums
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: A huge museum dedicated to the history and culture of Louisiana.
leicester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Katrina exhibition is a must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We went to the exhibition on the recommendation of a friend. It was the most moving exhibition I've been to for a very long time. It reduced me to tears several times and really made me realise how resilient the people of New Orleans are. They should keep the exhibit there for ever - what happened should not be forgotten.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    39
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
“Wonderful history lesson!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our visit to the 1850 House Museum in February! Our congenial guide provided a brief history of the building and facts about the families that occupied it and then let us explore on our own. Great artifacts of a bygone era are displayed. Admission was $3...a steal in New Orleans!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“An interesting view into life in 1850!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We really got the feel of how it would have been to live in 1850 New Orleans in an apartment off Jackson Square. The rooms had interesting furnishings and good writing describing what we were seeing. Two floors of living, dining, and bedrooms, and the attached servant quarters and kitchen were included. Children would also be fascinated and seeing this would spark their imaginations!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Catch the Hurricane exhibit before it's gone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've never cried so much in a museum. The hurricane exhibit is perfectly curated and so well thought-out. It's a brave, moving, controversial and far-reaching examination of the causes and consequences of New Orleans' terrible ordeal with Hurricane Katrina. Go here. And let yourself get into it. Read and watch everything, because it's all worth it.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“A restored 1850 apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you're near Jackson Square (and most tourists are at some point), the 1850 House is worth a look. It doesn't take long to see, and it's only $3. It consists of an apartment in the Pontalba Buildings that has been restored to look as it would have in 1850 when it was the home of a wealthy merchant. I was amazed at how large the rooms are. The bonus is the excellent shop (where you buy your ticket). It has a fantastic selection of books on NOLA topics.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louisiana State Museum (The 1850 House) also viewed

 

Been to Louisiana State Museum (The 1850 House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louisiana State Museum (The 1850 House), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Louisiana State Museum (The 1850 House) to your Saves list