We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great southern history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabildo

Cabildo
701 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA (French Quarter)
504-568-6968
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 165 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: Historic Sites, History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The 19th-century building that housed the old Spanish government has been rebuilt as a museum covering the history of Louisiana through the Civil War.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
“great southern history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Being Australian its always an history catch up when you visit a museum-this museum did that. I struggled to understand American culture but I truly understood southern culture-the good not the bad from this museum-well done. The only down side was the security guard getting all the merchants/ bands/ bike cabs to move from the shelter during a rain storm-WHY?

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    44
    15
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“In-depth Louisiana History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I found this museum very interesting since I had read a biography of Micaela Almonester before coming to NO plus I wanted to see the Death Mask of Napoleon which is housed at the museum. This place is an exhaustive study of Louisiana's history and a "must see" for history buffs. The upper level exhibit of the local history of Rock and Roll is informative and worth a look.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Historic place for U.S. history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We visited the Cabildo as the last part of a walking tour of the French Quarter. What I didn't know upon entering was that this was the place where the Louisiana Purchase was signed. There were also several artifacts referring to the Plessy vs. Ferguson case as well. Highly recommended. It was also nice and cool inside, which was a nice respite from the hot summer weather!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Stand in the room where the Louisiana Purchase was signed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Louisiana purchase doubled the size of the USA and was, undoubtedly, a pivotal moment in the history of the country. The agreement was signed in a room on the second floor of the New Orleans Cabildo, which you can visit for a nominal fee. The Nola Cabildo is also the oldest government building in the country and is right next door to the Nola cathedral in the heart of the French quarter so you will almost certainly pass by it anyway. Definitely head inside and explore what the building (now a museum) has to offer. In the summer it provides a nice relief from the hot sun outside whilst still being able to hear the great jazz coming in from the square outside.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent, excellent museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

You can learn a lot here. Very well done, lots of information, beautiful paintings, interesting artifacts, and a beautiful building. When we went there was a great exhibit on Mardi Gras as well as a mini-exhibit on Louisiana Rock n roll. We spent at least 1.5 hours there, we could have spent more. I strongly recommend if you want to learn--I think kids might get a bit bored because there's a lot of things to read and not a lot of interactivity.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabildo also viewed

 

Been to Cabildo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabildo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.