We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of interesting and very old art, artifacts & more about Louisiana” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cabildo

Cabildo
701 Chartres St, New Orleans, LA (French Quarter)
+1 504-568-6968
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Cabildo like an insider
Top Rated
$65*
and up
New Orleans French Quarter Segway Tour
Ranked #104 of 461 things to do in New Orleans
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A visit to New Orleans' historic French Quarter would not be complete without a stop at Jackson Square, which is where you will find the Cabildo. On loan from the Smithsonian, the coat Andrew Jackson wore during the Battle of New Orleans returns for this groundbreaking exhibition "From Dirty Shirts to Buccaneers: The Battle of New Orleans in American Culture." This elegant Spanish colonial building neighbors St. Louis Cathedral and houses many rare artifacts of America's history. Among them is Napoleon's death mask, one of only four in existence. It was made from a mold crafted by Dr. Francesco Antommarchi, who was one of Napoleon Bonaparte's physicians at the time of his death.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lots of interesting and very old art, artifacts & more about Louisiana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We really enjoyed learning about Louisiana history, although we are from Louisiana. There were many very old pieces of art, along with artifacts (even some of Napoleon's belongings). This is a must-see when you have time and are in the vicinity of Jackson Square. Very educational & interesting. Plus, the view from the front of the Cabildo on the 2nd floor, you can see all the way across the square, and the artists selling their art, and see the river, plus listen to the beautiful music being played in the square.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    55
    19
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Go to take pictures and admire the architecture”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Very pretty cathedral with tons of history. The building has needed renovation throughout the years but still remarkably original.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“snotty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The people who run it think they are gods. They don't consider the sidewalk on the state side of the street public property and I have seen them treat people with total disrespect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great destination for a hot afternoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If you like history and would enjoy seeing the interior of a gorgeous, historic building, then definitely check this museum out. There are dozens and dozens of portraits and paintings lining the walls and interesting exhibits to see. The museum holds many great old household and war-associated items from around the area. We were not disappointed at all, and strangely, we met only two other couples in the whole museum. I would definitely recommend a visit here!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Top Contributor
493 reviews 493 reviews
212 attraction reviews
Reviews in 197 cities Reviews in 197 cities
506 helpful votes 506 helpful votes
“Interesting, Worthwhile Museum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

During my recent trip to New Orleans I spent some time seeing the exhibits inside this historic and beautiful building. There is quite a bit to see here and I don't believe I saw everything, as it was much to take in. The exhibits provide a great deal of information on the history and culture of Louisiana and New Orleans. It is a fine museum and the morning that I was there, it was quiet with few people in attendance. I really like history and believe it is important wherever I travel to become aware of the history of the city, town or state that I am visiting. Of particular interest is the second floor where the Louisiana Purchase was completed. There are very nice views of Jackson Square from the windows of the 2nd floor. I would definitely recommend this museum while visiting New Orleans. Louisiana and New Orleans has a wonderful history that is detailed right here! I would recommend at least one hour, but you could spend a few hours in order to see and read all of the exhibits.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cabildo also viewed

 

Been to Cabildo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabildo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.