We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kid's museum focuses on Southern History” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Louisiana Children's Museum

Louisiana Children's Museum
420 Julia Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)
504-523-1357
Update attraction details
Book a Tour

Ranked #48 of 166 attractions in New Orleans
Type: Children's Museums, Specialty Museums
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This museum has interactive exhibits, such as one that allows children to learn broadcasting by reading in front of a real camera.
Belgium, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Kid's museum focuses on Southern History”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

With 5 kids we go to Children's museums all over the country (Get an ASTC membership and you can get in free). Sometimes kids museums are just random play areas, but this museum does focus on some Louisiana history, so the kids did learn more about the region and had fun doing it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    29
    12
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Fun for Kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Every child I know who has been to the Children's Museum can't wait to go back and do it again. It has a child size TV news studio and grocery store that your kids will never forget.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great place for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

my son particularly enjoyed the pretend grocery store, he shopped 3 times! this is a great place for kids to explore. they have a solid stock of regular exhibit as well as new exhibits on a regular basis. some of the older/regular exhibits seem to not be working on a rotating basis, but there is no lack of cool stuff to do regardless.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“carson outing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

this was nice the kids learned alot and had fun at the same time.I think kids learn more when they get hands on with things and all the kids were having fun everywhere i turned i saw smiles whick tells me kids were enjoying themself

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL - a whole day of activity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

What a wonderful surprise and really a high value for the $$ if you are traveling with kids to NOLA. We took our 2 children (age 5 and 2.5) and it was great - - they really enjoyed it! There are so many areas - a puppet show area, art area, bubbles, pulleys, legos, toddler play, eyeglasses, history of New Orleans... a lot of fun for parents! They loved the shopping area and courtyard play area. Really a MUST VISIT for anyone.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Louisiana Children's Museum also viewed

 

Been to Louisiana Children's Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louisiana Children's Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.