We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home of my Fave Ice Cream Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Creole Creamery

Creole Creamery
4924 Prytania Street, New Orleans, LA 70115
504-894-8680
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 1,603 restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Dessert
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Home of my Fave Ice Cream Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We loved this place and I had the best ice cream I've ever had, the Mexican Hot Chocolate! It has a real kick to it, very unique. I also loved the Chocwork Orange flavor, as did the other two people with me who tried it. My husband enjoyed combining the Creole Cream Cheese scoop with his Red Velvet Cake scoop. The Blueberry Pie was good, as were the Lemongrass Coconut, Honey Lavender and Peach Rosemary. My husband said the Summer Ale flavor was interesting but he didn't love it. A cute shop that wasn't terribly busy--definitely worth checking out. It's an easy walk from Magazine St.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    111
    37
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mandeville, Louisiana
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Super unique flavors and the creamiest ice cream I've had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

So many unique flavors- lavender and honey, champagne and violet, even beer flavored. I stuck with the salted caramel and the cafe au lait and I would probably get the same next time it was soooo good. This ice cream is so creamy and light and delicious! A whole scoop of the lavender honey and the champagne violet turned out to be a little much..... But glad we tried them. We also had peanut butter chocolate and Cookie Monster- both good but everyone agreed cafe au lait was the bomb!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not the best ice cream we had in NOLA.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Yes, it was on DDD. Yes, it is good. Yes, the prices are fair. But, this was not the best ice cream I had while in the city. My family and I tried quite a few flavors. Everyone really liked the black and gold, but my favorite here was the coffee and pecan praline. It was crowded for a Tuesday night , but the line moved fast. Cash only.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Saw this place on the food network so we decided to come, great place! So many ice cream options, stuff that you don't find everyday! Black and Gold Ice cream is the best!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Lots and lots of flavors!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I had a mini-sundae with Creole Cream Cheese ice cream. It wasn't really very sweet ice cream, very much cream-cheesy, I liked it that way. The mini was the perfect size and it was so pretty! My friend said her coconut something or other wasn't very coconutty. My other friend had some kind of salted dark chocolate, which she described as "interesting".

Sounds like I think it was ho-hum, I know, but I wish I could go there all the time to try every flavor to get my own opinion. Very creative flavors that change frequently. And they had some interesting looking concoctions that I didn't try.

If you're in the Garden District and get a craving, I highly recommend it. It's in a beautiful area too, it's a nice crawl around the neighborhood gawking at old houses.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Creole Creamery also viewed

 

Been to Creole Creamery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Creole Creamery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.