We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Walking Tons of Learning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum

New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum
724 Dumaine St., At Bourbon, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)
504-523-7685
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #83 of 165 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Activities: Leisure education, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: There's just enough voodoo lore here to introduce you to the history and culture of this spiritual practice and to tempt you to bring home a love potion or voodoo doll as a souvenir. Guided swamp, plantation and cemetery tours are available.
Chesterton, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lots of Walking Tons of Learning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We took the cemetary/voodoo tour This is a MUST DO in New Orleans. In fact, I say it's the FIRST thing you should do there. Get over your preconceived ideas about what voodoo is. Book this tour and actually learn about the roots of the practice of Voodoo. In the process, you will be relieved of your fears and will end up learning about the birth of Jazz, the link between Voodoo and Catholicism and the REAL concepts of Mardis Gras, what Krewes are all about and how to truly appreciate Second Line in funeral processions. If you do this tour first, the entire rest of your experience in New Orleans will be enhanced because you will understand what you are truly seeing as you travel the streets. You'll also know why eating on Bourbon Street is overrated (and really just a plain old tourist trap).

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    53
    34
    25
    20
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“An absolute must”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

While the museum is a little on the smaller side, it is PACKED full of great information and artifacts. It's an absolute must if you have time. Located in the French Quarter, there are plenty of restaurants and other sites in the area, so you can easily plan this into your day. We probably only spent about 45 minutes, although, I could have easily spent another 45 just sitting and reading through all of the material. Debunks a lot of misunderstandings, and explains where Voodoo comes from. Helped me to develop a new, healthy respect for it. Not at all scary, so older children should be fine as well.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Super cool to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

well put together and maintained. Enjoyed the different artifacts and found it to be interesting. Worth the visit.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillips, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tour and guide were awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

After doing a bit of research we decided that our small family group would try out the cemetery tour from this location. There were 7 of us, and due to the slower time of year and the really unseasonably cold temperatures, we were the only ones on the tour - which was great.

The tour starts out in the small voodoo museum and we are told about some of the history of voodoo and what some of the displays are. At first we were pretty skeptical, but the more our guide, Jerry, told us things, the more we enjoyed the experience.

Jerry was awesome. He answered any questions - whether it was about voodoo, burials, the city, and what other tours or buildings he would recommend seeing.

The tour was long - running from 10:30 am or so till about 2:00 pm. We did sit down for a bit at the Congo Square and enjoy a rest break while he told us more about the square and he was very detailed about some of the people in the cemetery.

Definitely plan this as a half day adventure and bring something to drink, we definitely could have used some bottled water! We didn't get in to see the Voodoo Queen, but did stop at her shop and talk with her husband some. We were ok not getting to do that, as our tour was plenty informative and long.

But even while long, we didn't notice much as Jerry was very interesting and unlike most guides had been living here all of his life. He was a historian and I believe most of what he told us was true, but every once an awhile we thought he might have been embellishing a bit. Overall though, would say it was well worth the money ($19) for the amount of time and information that we received.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Uuuuummmmm, OK”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I guess your trip to Voodoo town wouldn't be complete without visiting the Voodoo Museum, but don't get your expectations up. It's as if weird aunt Mabel converted her house into an alter for the occult. Dusty items littered the 3 tiny rooms with voodoo paraphernalia. Interesting, but not worth the price of admission. We went on a rainy day and it was just super crowded inside. To quote Admiral Ackbar, "It's a trap!"

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum also viewed

 

Been to New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans Historic Voodoo Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.