We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a Blast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lafitte's Blacksmith Shop Bar

Lafitte's Blacksmith Shop Bar
941 Bourbon Street, New Orleans, LA 70116 (French Quarter)
504 593-9761
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 198 nightlife in New Orleans
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Historic Sites
Activities: Drinking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Arguably the city's most historic bar, the Blacksmith, dates to 1772.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Had a Blast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Don't miss this little place! We had a great time hanging out at this little bar. We heard they had the best hurricanes so ordered two of those. We were immediately approached by a super nice couple who were locals and said we "had" to get the purple voodoo slushy drink. Can't remember the real name of it. So they proceeded to order us two of them. Both drinks were very good! Too good! LOL! We had a blast and would definitely go back again and will tell friends visiting New Orleans to not miss it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    393
    225
    86
    25
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Can we turn more historic sites into taverns?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed next door at Lafitte's Guest House, so walked over for their celebrated "hurricane." Fascinating place to unwind from the day, and the gal at the piano was great. Ghostly and fun.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best bar in Nola”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Awesome location, especially at night. No lights inside so its only lit up by candles. Best drink in town...the hurricane at Lafittes. After you try the hurricane here, you'll never go back to Pat O'briens.

Awesome atmosphere and awesome drinks.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“History at its best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This bar was an interesting place with much history in the building. It was much better than most aged establishments. Service was not great but it was also busy Bourbon St. It was similar to a few of the port city stone pubs I have ventured into in Scotland or Canada. Worth the visit if you are in the area and looking for something a little slower paced.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, VT
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Historic But Noisy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Much history and pirate lore connected with this bar but acoustics, even early in the day, discouraged conversation and enjoyment. Yet, it's still worth a visit; having a quick drink before lunch would be my recommendation.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lafitte's Blacksmith Shop Bar also viewed

 

Been to Lafitte's Blacksmith Shop Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lafitte's Blacksmith Shop Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lafitte's Blacksmith Shop Bar to your Saves list