We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical Place in LA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lafayette Cemetery

Lafayette Cemetery
1400 block of Washington Ave, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Garden District)
504-525-3377
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$37*
and up
Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and...
Ranked #32 of 165 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: Cemeteries, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The burial site for many of the people who lived in the mansions of the surrounding Garden District.
Miami Lakes, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Historical Place in LA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Just in front of the from the Command Palace restaurant is this cemetery. We returned our Groupon coupon as this cemetery was accessible and free. There are 'guides' there if you want an impromptu tour. Most of the cemeteries have limited hours in the mornings for the public,nice place full of histories

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    228
    76
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Piece of History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

If you have a chance to take a walk between rows of beautiful family tombs and monuments, do. It's just like something out of a movie. And this cemetery has literally been in many movies -- there's so much detail and meaning behind each piece that it's easy to lose yourself in this bit of history.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“"Interesting"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I have never seen the tombs above ground until I visited New Orleans Louisiana. My cousin wanted to go visit Lafayette Cemetery and so we did. I took photos of my own, tombs decorated, different sizes and some broken, I was actually able to see bones through the broken bricks.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Rockaway, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very interesting.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

A walk through was interesting and spooky. Amazing to see the above ground burials. Even the walls surrounding the cemetery are graves.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice Cemetery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

It was a very nice place to vist everything was old looking some of the graves were as old as the 1800s others were as new as 2010. But nobody really takes care of the lawn weeds were growing all over the places and even through the graves. and be careful the hours are slim 10ish to 2:30.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lafayette Cemetery also viewed

 

Been to Lafayette Cemetery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lafayette Cemetery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.