We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great value, no frills.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Nino

Cafe Nino
1510 S Carrollton Ave, New Orleans, LA 70118-2824
504-865-9200
Improve this listing
Ranked #800 of 1,672 Restaurants in New Orleans
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, great value, no frills.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I love eating here when I visit. Nino is the real deal and the items served are genuine and delicious. Get whatever is fresh made that day. If you go pizza, get a whole pie made to order. Don't be intimidated by how it looks, the food and Nino are worth your time and taste buds. Yummy and memorable.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian Take-out Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

A friend and I dashed in here for a quick dinner before attending a band night at the nearby Carrollton Station. The band's drummer highly recommended it, and he was right! The menu was typical Italian take-out fare - we opted for veal and eggplant parmigiana respectively, and ate in one of the booths. Really superb home cooking ajnd excellent value, in a very friendly place. Will; definitely make this a regular stop when visiting New Orleans.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“As close to 'back east' pizza as you'll ever find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We moved to New Orleans from Northern NJ/Philadelphia a year ago. We've been seriously missing some of the better food we'd become accustomed to. Pizza was second on the list (decent italian bread is first!) After trying a dozen different pizza places we'd almost given up on finding the real deal.
Cafe Nino is the REAL DEAL! The large pie is actually a large pie; not a medium being called a large. The crust is not too thin, and not too thick with just the right about of chewyness. The sauce is flavourful and clean. It's not laden with heavy spices to mask an inferiour tomato. It's got just the right amount of sauce.
Two italians who grew up in the two pizza capitals of the world agree that Cafe Nino is the best pizza in all of New Orleans.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent homemade Italian food and you'll be served and done before fast food even takes your order!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

Excellent homemade Italian food and you'll be served and done before fast food even takes your order!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, La
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Hole in the Wall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

I love this place. It's too bad that it is usually overshadowed by the restaurants next door. The servers are always friendly and the owner even allows customers of the nearby restuarant to park in his limited places. They have great chicken parmesan and pizza. Their knotted breadsticks are amazing. The place is a little run down, but i adds to the charm and reminds me of a hole in the wall pizza place in New York.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Nino also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Nino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Nino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.