We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful piece of history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. Louis Cemetery No. 1

St. Louis Cemetery No. 1
425 Basin Street, 3421 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70112
504-596-3050
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$45*
and up
New Orleans Bike Tour
Ranked #23 of 165 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: Cemeteries, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1789, this cemetery is the oldest in New Orleans and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
Westbay ,Roatan
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“A beautiful piece of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

As I strolled past the graves in this beautiful cemetery I was fascinated by the names and dates on the above the ground crypts. some dating back 100's of years and so many children too. Definitely a must see. Bring a piece of paper and a soft pencil to do some grave rubbings.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    589
    458
    109
    18
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birdsboro, PA, USA
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Home of the Vodoo Queen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Went here as part of a Haunted History tour. You can take a walking tour by yourself but recommend a guided tour. Our guide was excellent and gave us many "behind the scenes" information about the cemetery which made it more interesting.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

WOW!!!! This is just the feeling you leave with after two hrs. with Ernie as your tour guide after the Haunted History Cemetery Tour! He is soooooooo passionate and knowledgeable about his city and its history that he draws you in and you realize that its the only way to really get a feel for what has taken place here. I definitely would recommend this tour especially with Ernie!!!!! You just can't get the same info by just walking around the cemetery Take a tour for all the history that goes with it!!!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORFOLK
1 review
“Fabulous history!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My friend and i took a tour through this beautiful, historic cemetery on January 26, 2013. I believe we used Haunted History. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable about the cemetery and all of New Orleans, for that matter. In fact, she said she had written a couple of books on New Orleans. My favorite part of the tour was seeing Marie Laveau's tomb but there were many other interesting spots and historical tidbits. Highly recommended and well worth the low tour fee.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Never seen anything like this before”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I have never seen anything like this before. It is a must see, you will be glad you took the time. Easy to get to on cable car line. Not in the best of neighborhoods so don't plan night trip. The Cemetery is so very fascinating. Spend the time and go.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Louis Cemetery No. 1 also viewed

 

Been to St. Louis Cemetery No. 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Louis Cemetery No. 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.