We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Louis Cemetery No. 1

St. Louis Cemetery No. 1
425 Basin Street, 3421 Esplanade Ave, New Orleans, LA 70112
504-596-3050
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$45*
and up
New Orleans Bike Tour
Ranked #23 of 165 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: Cemeteries, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded in 1789, this cemetery is the oldest in New Orleans and is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
West Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a must see for anyone traveling to N.O. We were lucky enough to hear about the history of all cemeteries in N.O. while on our plantation tour.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    588
    457
    109
    18
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Piscataway, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Interesting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Took the tour through "Haunted Tours". Our guide was very knowlegable. There is a fee of $20; fortunately we had a coupon for $3 off. One can walk through the cemetary free, but having a guide makes the experience facinating.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“See it with a tour guide”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We walked to the cemetery by ourselves; the neighborhood is sketchy at best, and we didn't learn much. We went back with a tour, felt safer, and learned quite a bit.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Very Interesting and Safe to Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Although we did make use of one of the Friends of the Cemtery guided tours, we would have been equally happy to visit unescorted.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Unique and worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

It's true that you can visit this cemetery on your own - and when we went in the early afternoon, it seemed as if it was pretty safe to walk there from the French Quarter and then explore the cemetery. However, I really learned a lot from seeing it with a tour guide. We went with Haunted History tours, and our guide was excellent. I wouldn't have understood or discovered a lot of what I did if I had just gone on my own.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Louis Cemetery No. 1 also viewed

 

Been to St. Louis Cemetery No. 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Louis Cemetery No. 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.