We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“art (museum) in the park...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Orleans City Park

New Orleans City Park
1 Palm Drive, New Orleans, LA 70124
504-482-4888
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$45*
and up
New Orleans Bike Tour
Ranked #4 of 165 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Running, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: One of the largest urban parks in the country, City Park has golf, tennis and horseback riding.
Corrales, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“art (museum) in the park...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

took the streetcar to City Park (end of that line) and walked to the art museum. We very much enjoyed the exhibits of South Pacific and Native NW American arts as well as of Contemporary art. Not very large but that makes for enjoyable viewing especially when there are some items of high quality

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,104
    440
    63
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Syosset, NY
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Went for the "Gambit Food Revue" - gorgeous ponds and oaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Several dozen chefs of less-known establishments pulled out the stops at the Pavillion of the Two Sisters Mar 6 evening. We bought tickets in advance and mixed with food-loving locals - all yuo can eat for one ticket price. Oysters Rockefeller, Lobster/Pork Belly SouVide with Brussels Sprouts salad, moonshine, Thai claims, Cochon, Grapefruit Gelato, Gumbo variations...the list goes on.

We can see that this park, which may have been submerged a few years ago, is actually world class, with its old and new trees and landscaping.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Park Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We enjoyed the sculpture garden so much we returned for a second visit. We also enjoyed the botanical gardens. If you have children City Park also has a wonderful amusement park. It is really worth the time. Easy access by street car. 30 minutes from downtown.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, VA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Big Park Interesting Sculpture Garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We went here is part of Lousiana Tour Company City Tour. I recommed the tour. Interesting history, cementary tour and Katrina aftermath tour.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Park with amazing art!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

If you want a place to get a way from the hustle and bustle of the French Quarter take some time to visit City Park. There are some very creative and memorable art pieces scattered throughout the park and beautiful scenery that you can view for free. We also stopped by the art museum while we were there and their is a botanical garden nearby if you have time as well.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Orleans City Park also viewed

 

Been to New Orleans City Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orleans City Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.