We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ogden Museum of Southern Art

Ogden Museum of Southern Art
925 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)
+1 504-539-9600
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$80*
and up
New Orleans Power Pass™
Ranked #31 of 165 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The range of the collections include painting, sculpture, photography, self-taught art, ceramics and mixed media by Southern artists.
Surprise, Arizona, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Senior discount and 1 or 3 day pass works great for getting around. Some walking involved but if you are staying close to Canal St. it's a no brainer.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    81
    21
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Do not miss this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stumbled into the Ogden as the museum we wanted to see was closed and I am so glad we did. The art was fantastic, the gallery itself a really nice space to wander around in. Really worth a visit. Provides a little downtime and a space to reflect on the South and what it means to many people through the ages.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dexter, Michigan
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Excellent collection of Southern Art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Not a big collection, but one that draws us back every time we go to NOLA. A range from fine southern art to folk art. Wallace Stevens work is in display now. Locally made original jewelry on sale in the shop. There however is a paucity of prints available from the collection. They should have more prints on sale

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Variety but not Spectacular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

The top floor with the folk art was quite different. The roof area had little art, but an interesting view of the WWII Museum nearby and of Gen. Lee's statue from Lee Circle. Much of the art seemed to be OK, but not spectacular.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great museum - great variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Although it is a relatively small museum, it had a great variety when we visited in July 2013. Outsider art, photography, paintings, all displayed very well with generally good information about the artists and the pieces. I am not terribly knowledgeable about art, but a friend wanted to go to the museum so I tagged along. We both thoroughly enjoyed our visit, so much that we had to leave for lunch reservations then came back after lunch to be sure we saw it all! I am very glad that we took the time to visit the Ogden. It was time very well spent.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ogden Museum of Southern Art also viewed

 

Been to Ogden Museum of Southern Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ogden Museum of Southern Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.