We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb art” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ogden Museum of Southern Art

Ogden Museum of Southern Art
925 Camp Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Central Business District)
+1 504-539-9600
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$80*
and up
New Orleans Power Pass™
Ranked #31 of 165 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The range of the collections include painting, sculpture, photography, self-taught art, ceramics and mixed media by Southern artists.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“superb art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I had no idea of the depth and breadth of southern art, it was a wonderful discovery - highly recommend this to other visitors. The permanent collection is excellent and the current exhibition 'From Terra to Verde' is fascinating.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    81
    21
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davison, Michigan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Didn't find any ghosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just a fun place to visit and see some of the history of this wonderful city. It is important to go in some sort of tour so you can fully appreciate why you see flowers and marking on some of the graves.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
95 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Very dark Art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The museum was open, airy and well organized. The art was on the "dark" side. Enjoyed the walk through, plan an hour for this venue. The walk down Camp Street from Julia takes you past a Men's Homeless Shelter, so be prepared for that. Across the street is the Contemporary Art Museum.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A quiet, discrete museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Actually visited there several years ago, it is a nice compilation of Southern artists and their work. Three floors, at which one can spend pehaps a few hours makes it a good choice either prior to or after lunch

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Loved This Museum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I'm a lover of just about all things Southern, so I knew I wanted to check out this museum. It was well worth the $10 admission fee. I believe that the exhibits change throughout the year, so the ones I liked the most may not be there in a few months, but who knows, maybe even better ones will take their place.

One of the photography exhibits was so amusing (these were photos taken by the artist in the 1970's and 1980's and then described by the artist), that I had to try to keep down my laughter so as to not disturb the other patrons (who didn't seem to find anything nearly as funny as I did).

There were several other exhibits that I loved, as well as some that I felt pretty neutral about. Most of the pieces exhibited were 20th century, and a few were outsider art (this definitely is not a museum specializing in outside art), but some of the permanent collection is 19th Century, mostly Louisiana landscapes and portraits of Louisiana people.

The young woman who took my admission fee was very helpful, and asked me on my way out what I thought of the place. I told her I agreed with her recommendations about which were the best things to see.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ogden Museum of Southern Art also viewed

 

Been to Ogden Museum of Southern Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ogden Museum of Southern Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.