We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool bar to hear some excellent music at!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howlin' Wolf

Howlin' Wolf
828 South Peters Street, New Orleans, LA 70130 (Lower Garden District)
504 523 2551
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 201 Nightlife in New Orleans
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
Activities: Nightlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Voted the "best rock club in New Orleans," this is a high-velocity nightspot with live music from the worlds of rock, funk, blues and alternative.
Elmira, NY
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cool bar to hear some excellent music at!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We went to "The Den" at the Howlin' Wolf to hear the Hot 8 Brass Band and it was everything you want it to be to hear some great music! No matter where you are standing, you have a great spot to hear the band and dance! If you haven't tried this place, you'll have fun experiencing this NOLA bar to hear some good music, good drinks, and dancing your [--] off!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bonne Terre, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Chef should be with Gordon Ramsey”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

When in for a quick bite to eat. Small menu, not much to pick from. You order directly with the cook/chef. When we ordered, he said - We don't have that yet. (he was prepping the sauce for it) My wife asked when (we could come back), and he just sarcasticly repeated - we don't have that yet. Tried to then tell him we understood it wasn't ready yet, but we would come back if he would suggust a time - and he just sarcasticly repeated his previous answer. Needless to say - we left and went somewhere else.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, England
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Hot 8 Brass Band superb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

A rockin' little bar with a small room at the back behind a curtain ("The Den") where the Hot 8 Brass Band throws down some real NOLA soul, funk and jazz on a weekly basis. Everybody dancing and grooving, hot and sweaty, steaming, having a party. A real treat. Drinks are a touch expensive but go with the flow and donate generously to the band who live off what's put in the hat.

There is also a larger venue on the other side that hosts music and comedy events but we didn't try in there.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great place for a concert!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We had a blast here. Saw an excellent band and the opening band was also fantastic. Strong drinks and a nice big stage. (had gone to a band the night before and couldn't even SEE the band cause the stage was too small and in the corner). You will see FINE at Howlin Wolf. There was food and some seats outside, I didn't eat, but others say the munchies were great.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
64 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Fantastic music venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Went here during Mardi Gras after spending hours watching the parades. We didn't get there until midnight but the music was just starting. We were very lucky to the see the Rebirth Brass Band, fresh from their Grammy success, during a free gig. They were marvellous. The bar itself is interesting having come from a hotel in Chicage once owned by Al Capone and the stage had a creole cottage on either side. This bar is located in the CBD so is a little way from the Quarter. However we walked there and back and it seemed a safe neighbourhood. If you jhave any concerns though take a taxi.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howlin' Wolf also viewed

 

Been to Howlin' Wolf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howlin' Wolf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.