We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Track” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fair Grounds Race Course

Fair Grounds Race Course
New Orleans, LA (Fairgrounds)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 165 Attractions in New Orleans
Type: Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields, Horse Tracks, Casinos & Gaming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Popular track for thoroughbred horse racing.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Track”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

I love horse racing. I grew up in Saratoga Springs, NY. It was great to see another track that started around the same time. The track was quite nice. I did not like how the grandstand was enclosed, but spent most of my time on the apron. The food choices were not great. But overall it was a great day at the track.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Very fun place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Plenty to do if you're looking for entertainment other than jazz etc of the French Quarter. From slots to betting on horses, there's lots of excitement. Food is good also. Try the night races for a new twist at the race track.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The home of Jazz Fest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Wonderful race course during racing season, but then, the home of the best fest in the land ... New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival! Stages and food inside the track, craft booths and more music outside the track! A must visit the last weekend in April and the first weekend in May!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“jazzfest 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

love the music not the lines for the bathrooms great place to take photos and spend time with friends look to get a brass pass if you're serious about this festival and know that the crowds can get rowdy one of the best festivals in the world for music!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice track”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The race track was very nice. If you are a tourist you should definately catch a cab. The neighborhood surrounding the track is not the best. Trying to get a cab back to our place was a nightmare. We used the designated cab phone at the track. Called all 4 cab companies. Put on hold or told to call back in 10 minutes. After an hour of waiting we walked out on the street and hailed a cab. Not cool for tourists.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fair Grounds Race Course also viewed

 

Been to Fair Grounds Race Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fair Grounds Race Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.