We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic museum, a must see for all Americans” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The National WWII Museum

The National WWII Museum
945 Magazine Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
(504) 528-1944
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #1 of 171 attractions in New Orleans
Type: History Museums, Military Museums, Museums, Specialty Museums
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The mission of this museum focuses on the remembrance and celebration of the American Spirit, teamwork, courage and sacrifice of the men and women who served during World War II.
Sugar Land
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
114 attraction reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
289 helpful votes 289 helpful votes
“Fantastic museum, a must see for all Americans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The National WW2 museum is a fantastic record of the sacrifices made by the Greatest Generation to win WW2. The focus is on D-day since a New Orleans businessman invented the amphibious vehicles used in DDay and the pacific battles, but there are many other interesting areas, including exhibits on the Pacific battles, American prisoners of war, and aircraft. We had the privilege of meeting several WW2 veterans. The Tom Hanks film, Beyond all Boundaries, is excellent, and the USS Tang submarine experience is a lot of fun. The best part of the museum is the numerous 2 minute testimonies by soldiers and nurses from all nations, including the Axis powers. We spent a full day here and weren't able to see it all, so we paid $6 for an additional day and spent a morning finishing the exhibits. Lunch at American Spectator is excellent and reservations are highly recommended. Our teenage son loved this (he is a history buff) and we will return here with the rest of our kids.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,399
    901
    189
    32
    9
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Exceeded my expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I am not really a military history buff, but this place was a great learning experience. The multimedia presentations were very informative. Plan to spend at least 3 hours to get the full experience. The Beyond Boundaries 4D is a must!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Richland Hills, Texas
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

This is an amazing museum on WWII. If you are a history buff you will love this place. They have a bunch of great exhibits to see. The museum is very large and in multiple buildings. There are extras you have to pay to see such as the submarine experience and the 4D movie narrated by Tom Hanks. The museum is still under construction with more exhibits coming next year. I can't wait to come back when it is all finished and see the rest.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a great museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a perfect place for history buffs! Great exhibits. Oral histories, films, and interactive exhibits. But take advantage now while we still can of their best assets! This is the men and women of WWII who work or volunteer at the museum! If you ask they are more than happy to share their own stories and history.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carencro, La
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“One of the best designed museums I've visited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This museum takes advantage of modern design and the the mistakes other museums may have made by designing an experience that ALL ages will enjoy and learn from. As a teacher, I wanted to bring my 2 youngest sons here to experience history. Well, they not only learned a book's worth of facts about WWII, but they got to hear PERSONAL stories from some of our veteran heroes on their experience in the war. The small rooms set aside where one can sit and listen to a storyteller are truly brilliant because each person narrates a specific event and time in the war, and the stories are riveting and REAL. You won't want to miss the 4-D experience in the theatre either. All in all, we spent 5 and 1/2 hours there!!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The National WWII Museum also viewed

 

Been to The National WWII Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The National WWII Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.